Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 42

Thread: Customer needs sconces switchable from 3 locations

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    NE (9.1 miles @5.07 Degrees from Winged Horses)
    Posts
    8,248
    Pdf is to large or you could all have had this brilliant masterpiece of programming for naught.
    Tom
    TBLO

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Chapel Hill, NC
    Posts
    31,365
    We did the same thing in a masdter bedroom. We had chandelier, 3 rows of track - 2 switches, uplights and sconces. We put in a table top unit by the night table and added a keypad. All the switches were hidden in a closet area. We also added a remote switch.

    Now then can turn on any combination of lights that they want and from the bedside they can do the same. There is also an all on and all off control on the keypad.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    NE Nebraska
    Posts
    30,360
    If they want a complex control scheme then they better be willing to pay for it. There is a reason handyman Joe can't figure out how to make it work the way they want it to.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Ann Arbor, Michigan
    Posts
    5,934
    170301-0906 EST

    The original post and #6 do not provide a clear definition of the desired logic.

    From post #1
    6 can lights total. Light 1, light2, light 4, controlled from first switch. Light 1, light2, light3 controlled by second switch . Only Light 4 controlled by 3rd switch.
    What is the definition of "switch"? I am reading this as singular. Then I make the assumption that this single switch is a SPDT center off with spring return to center.

    Still from post #1.

    All lights 1, 2, .... 4 are simultaneously turned on or off from switch A no matter what their previous state was.

    All lights 1, 2, 3 .... are simultaneously turned on or off from switch B no matter what their previous state was.

    Light ................ 4 is ....................... turned on or off from switch C no matter what its previous state was.

    There are no lights 5 or 6.

    This is an application for GE RR relays with appropriate logic. With reasonable probability they will have 50 year life even with most lightning storms.


    From post #6 things have changed some.

    All lights 1, 2, ... 4 ........ are simultaneously turned on or off from switch A no matter what their previous state was.

    All lights 1, 2, ........ 5, 6 are simultaneously turned on or off from switch B no matter what their previous state was.

    Light .................... 5 ... is turned on or off from switch C no matter what its previous state was.

    Light ............ 3 ........... is not switched.

    The only way to switch light 4 is from switch A, and light 6 from switch B, and light 3 can not be switched.


    We need an accurate definition of the required logic.

    Note: it is not necessary that the on and off function from a specific switch be the same for both on and off.

    .
    Last edited by gar; 03-01-17 at 11:01 AM.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    NE (9.1 miles @5.07 Degrees from Winged Horses)
    Posts
    8,248
    mh lighting.pdfsee if this works
    Tom
    TBLO

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Michigan. It's a beautiful penninsula, I've looked around.
    Posts
    8,621
    Quote Originally Posted by ptonsparky View Post
    OP. The drawing doesn't match with what you described in your first post.
    It sure doesn't.

    It would be nice to know which one is the one the customer is asking for.
    Cheers and Stay Safe,

    Marky the Sparky

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Ann Arbor, Michigan
    Posts
    5,934
    170301-1121 EST

    ptonsparky:

    Light 6 in your drawing needs to be transitional for ON and OUT needs to change to SET.

    I believe light 4 is only controlled by one switch in post #6.

    .

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    NE (9.1 miles @5.07 Degrees from Winged Horses)
    Posts
    8,248
    Quote Originally Posted by gar View Post
    170301-1121 EST

    ptonsparky:

    Light 6 in your drawing needs to be transitional for ON and OUT needs to change to SET.

    I believe light 4 is only controlled by one switch in post #6.

    .
    Well shucks, I owe you 20% of the profit for proofreading, but you get the general idea.
    Tom
    TBLO

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    12,758
    Quote Originally Posted by kwired View Post
    If you are doing what I think you are doing, you either need some relays, solid state logic relays, or even just some multipole switches and a little know how to draw up the logic needed.
    Why do that when there are ready made lighting control systems available?

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    90
    Lutron Graffik Eye with keypads will allow you to select scenes or zones of light control. Expensive but should do what you want.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •