Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 42

Thread: Customer needs sconces switchable from 3 locations

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Location
    Broadway, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    9

    Customer needs sconces switchable from 3 locations

    6 can lights total. Light 1, light2, light 4, controlled from first switch. Light 1, light2, light3 controlled by second switch . Only Light 4 controlled by 3rd switch. Any help on this one greatly appreciated the . Need relay of some kind, Right? Customer is willing to pay what's needed to make this happen.

    Sent from my SM-T713 using Tapatalk

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Williamsburg, VA
    Posts
    3,165
    Quote Originally Posted by Nathan68 View Post
    6 can lights total. Light 1, light2, light 4, controlled from first switch. Light 1, light2, light3 controlled by second switch . Only Light 4 controlled by 3rd switch. Any help on this one greatly appreciated the . Need relay of some kind, Right? Customer is willing to pay what's needed to make this happen.

    Sent from my SM-T713 using Tapatalk
    More information is needed, mainly what lights need to be switched together, and from how many locations. You say 6 can lights but make no mention of lights 5 and 6. Could you provide some more detailed information?

    Using 3 and 4 way switches will probably be the easiest way to go, no relays needed.
    Electricians do it until it Hertz!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Placerville, CA, USA
    Posts
    16,680
    Quote Originally Posted by JFletcher View Post
    More information is needed, mainly what lights need to be switched together, and from how many locations. You say 6 can lights but make no mention of lights 5 and 6. Could you provide some more detailed information?

    Using 3 and 4 way switches will probably be the easiest way to go, no relays needed.
    Except that conventional 3-way and 4-way switches will not allow single switches at different locations to control different subsets of lights.
    All they can do is allow on-off control of the same group of lights from multiple locations.

    As described in the OP, if S1 is used to turn on 1, 2, and 3 and then S2 is used to turn off 1 and 2 it will leave 3 on and also turn on 4.
    Even with momentary contact controlled relays that would require diodes on a DC control net or multiple contacts on each switch or a PLC to implement.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Atlanta,GA
    Posts
    5,079
    Quote Originally Posted by Nathan68 View Post
    6 can lights total. Light 1, light2, light 4, controlled from first switch. Light 1, light2, light3 controlled by second switch . Only Light 4 controlled by 3rd switch. Any help on this one greatly appreciated the . Need relay of some kind, Right? Customer is willing to pay what's needed to make this happen.

    I think you would need more than one switch at each location. Lights 1&2 controlled by 2 ea. three way switches Light 4 controlled by 2 ea. three ways switches. Light three by a seperate single pole switch and 5&6 by whatever they want.

    But Fletcher is right that you need to give more information. My advice is to draw it out on paper and see what works.

    If he is willing to pay it can be done. If he insist on only one switch at each location then a PLC may be the best choice.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    NE (9.1 miles @5.07 Degrees from Winged Horses)
    Posts
    8,250
    Quote Originally Posted by Nathan68 View Post
    6 can lights total. Light 1, light2, light 4, controlled from first switch. Light 1, light2, light3 controlled by second switch . Only Light 4 controlled by 3rd switch. Any help on this one greatly appreciated the . Need relay of some kind, Right? Customer is willing to pay what's needed to make this happen.

    Sent from my SM-T713 using Tapatalk
    Small PLC with momentary three position switches as input devices. Center position held. Sw 1 up turns outputs 1,2,4 On. Down turns them Off. Repeat with the additional I/O just as you have it written. One output for each fixture, two inputs for each switch.

    Headed now to the deep, dark, dank basement just to try this out. Cept I'll probably use an HMI, in place of the switches.

    edit: There is a bunch of other misc stuff in the detail.
    Tom
    TBLO

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Location
    Broadway, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    9
    Quote Originally Posted by JFletcher View Post
    More information is needed, mainly what lights need to be switched together, and from how many locations. You say 6 can lights but make no mention of lights 5 and 6. Could you provide some more detailed information?

    Using 3 and 4 way switches will probably be the easiest way to go, no relays needed.
    Thanks jfletcher. Here are some details that will clarify. Combination of can lights and sconces. Name:  1488369389122.jpg
Views: 372
Size:  90.5 KB

    Sent from my SM-T713 using Tapatalk

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    NE (9.1 miles @5.07 Degrees from Winged Horses)
    Posts
    8,250
    OP. The drawing doesn't match with what you described in your first post.
    Tom
    TBLO

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Chapel Hill, NC
    Posts
    31,365
    You need to use a Lutron system with a keypad. You install Maestro type switches and then the keypad gets programmed to control the lighting as you wish. Call Lutron they will set you up with part numbers etc.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    NE (9.1 miles @5.07 Degrees from Winged Horses)
    Posts
    8,250
    Quote Originally Posted by Dennis Alwon View Post
    You need to use a Lutron system with a keypad. You install Maestro type switches and then the keypad gets programmed to control the lighting as you wish. Call Lutron they will set you up with part numbers etc.
    But I'm done and ready to sell...
    Tom
    TBLO

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    NE Nebraska
    Posts
    30,364
    Quote Originally Posted by Nathan68 View Post
    Thanks jfletcher. Here are some details that will clarify. Combination of can lights and sconces. Name:  1488369389122.jpg
Views: 372
Size:  90.5 KB

    Sent from my SM-T713 using Tapatalk
    If you are doing what I think you are doing, you either need some relays, solid state logic relays, or even just some multipole switches and a little know how to draw up the logic needed.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •