Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: 4' Pendant From Concrete

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    1,273

    4' Pendant From Concrete

    Anyone happen to have a field pic of one of these hung? Or similar? Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    1,273
    My inquiry was regarding 4" boxes for the pendant fixture. I know what it looks like but was curious when you have a 4' pendant with 2 pendant are there always two boxes at the ceiling where the pendants mount to? I always assume yes, one feed and one support. I guess of you were using threaded rod you can go right into the concrete with an anchor and rod and put one box mounted to the ceiling with a "whip".

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    11,056
    I have no clue what you are trying to ask.
    "Electricity is really just organized lightning." George Carlin


    Derek

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    NE Nebraska
    Posts
    31,296
    Quote Originally Posted by jumper View Post
    I have no clue what you are trying to ask.
    I think, one luminaire but two canopies, rods, chains, etc for support. Only one such support contains supply conductors though.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Valdosta, GA
    Posts
    3,646
    With concrete, yeh you only need one box for the supply conductors. The other stem can go to the deck.

    I would use two boxes on something like acoustical tile where the finish material can't actually support the weight.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Brought to you by Carl's Jr.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    1,273
    Quote Originally Posted by brantmacga View Post
    With concrete, yeh you only need one box for the supply conductors. The other stem can go to the deck.

    I would use two boxes on something like acoustical tile where the finish material can't actually support the weight.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    The other stem(without the box) would go directly into the slab? How's that possible?
    Last edited by mstrlucky74; 03-11-17 at 04:40 PM. Reason: typo

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Placerville, CA, USA
    Posts
    17,033
    Quote Originally Posted by mstrlucky74 View Post
    The other stem(without the box) would go directly into the slab? How's that possible?
    It would thread, with appropriate adapter, to a stud or anchor in the concrete?

    mobile

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •