Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Start business then get license or get license and start business?

Start business then get license or get license and start business?

Wanting to start my own business and was wondering what other people had done in this regard. I am currently studying 4-5 hours a day to get ready for the test and get the state license. My thinking is to have the license and then build the business as then I could go at it at 100% as I am now dedicated to studying and getting the license while I work.

Quote Originally Posted by KBS View Post
    Wanting to start my own business and was wondering what other people had done in this regard. I am currently studying 4-5 hours a day to get ready for the test and get the state license. My thinking is to have the license and then build the business as then I could go at it at 100% as I am now dedicated to studying and getting the license while I work.
    I''l bet most of us have done side work before we had our licenses. I however, would never do such a thing...... I would want to have my license before completely going out on my own.
    Ethan Brush - East West Electric. NY, WA. MA

"You can't generalize"

I don't see how you can legally do any work until you have some kind of license. If doing the work legally matters to you then your course should be pretty obvious.

OTOH a lot of people don't bother with licenses and no one seems to care all that much. Customers rarely do, anyway. Licensed competitors do.
    Bob

In NJ you don't actually get licensed as an electrician, you get licensed as an electrical contractor. Then you set up your DBA, Inc., or LLC and tie your electrical contractor's license to the legal entity. And the company name must have "electric" or "electrical" in its name.

The op should start out being legal before he starts doing the work.

Quote Originally Posted by chris1971 View Post
    The op should start out being legal before he starts doing the work.