Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Equipotential Plane and Horse stables

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    104

    Equipotential Plane and Horse stables

    Hello All,

    Article 547 is not an article I am intimately familiar. That being said, I am trying to determine if the cages in the picture need to be bonded to the Grounding Electrode System.

    If so, how exactly would I accomplish this? Is it as easy and making the stall panels continuous back to the panel and connecting a bare #8 at ground bar in the panel. or conversely could I connect to the UFER?

    I am a licensed electrician. I have just never come across this before, and I want to do it correctly, so I don't fail the inspection

    Finally, should this be in the NEC thread?

    Name:  Horse Stalls For Bonding.jpg
Views: 209
Size:  68.8 KB

    Thank you all very much...

    WROBO

    PS There is a waterer betwixt every two stalls that has an equipment ground in the circuit

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Fort Collins, Colorado
    Posts
    1,491
    The cages don't need to be bonded. Hopefully the equipotential bonding is complete in the concrete per 547.10.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    104
    Speaking of the slab. how would that be done if there is no rebar in the slab? at least, that's what I was told by the HO as the slab was there before I was... I assume it is to late?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    104
    Quote Originally Posted by rcarroll View Post
    The cages don't need to be bonded. Hopefully the equipotential bonding is complete in the concrete per 547.10.
    Alos in addition to the above, the entire floor will have rubber mats covering it. will this help at all?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Eastern Oregon
    Posts
    3,247
    We do a lot of equipotential grounding in dairy barns. We would of had them install mesh or a rebar grid in the concrete and then installed bonding jumpers to the metal fence.

    Since the floor is poured and the fencing is up, what did they call you in for? To install lighting and receps?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Wis.
    Posts
    59
    I think bonding those panels would be a good idea in regards to lightning protection.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    NE (9.1 miles @5.07 Degrees from Winged Horses)
    Posts
    8,250
    Quote Originally Posted by wrobotronic View Post
    Speaking of the slab. how would that be done if there is no rebar in the slab? at least, that's what I was told by the HO as the slab was there before I was... I assume it is to late?
    You assume correctly.
    Tom
    TBLO

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    8
    Unless there's a chance of those panels becoming energized, why would you ground them?

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G870A using Tapatalk

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    NE Nebraska
    Posts
    30,363
    No they do not need to be bonded, unless they are likely to become energized in some way.

    Yes it is too late to install an equipotential plane in the existing slab.

    Here such places would normally not require inspection. They often will not get an equipotential plane, electrician won't even be notified to install anything until the building is nearly completed. Dairy barns are somewhat of an exception though. Those owners do know that stray voltages effect production in the cows and are talking to their electrician early on in the process.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Cloverdale,Va.
    Posts
    7

    Horses will know

    If you do need to bond, the horses won't drink. they can detect small amounts of potential.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •