Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Equipotential Plane and Horse stables

Equipotential Plane and Horse stables

Hello All,

Article 547 is not an article I am intimately familiar. That being said, I am trying to determine if the cages in the picture need to be bonded to the Grounding Electrode System.

If so, how exactly would I accomplish this? Is it as easy and making the stall panels continuous back to the panel and connecting a bare #8 at ground bar in the panel. or conversely could I connect to the UFER?

I am a licensed electrician. I have just never come across this before, and I want to do it correctly, so I don't fail the inspection

Finally, should this be in the NEC thread?

Name:  Horse Stalls For Bonding.jpg
Views: 209
Size:  68.8 KB

Thank you all very much...

WROBO

PS There is a waterer betwixt every two stalls that has an equipment ground in the circuit

The cages don't need to be bonded. Hopefully the equipotential bonding is complete in the concrete per 547.10.

Speaking of the slab. how would that be done if there is no rebar in the slab? at least, that's what I was told by the HO as the slab was there before I was... I assume it is to late?

Quote Originally Posted by rcarroll View Post
    The cages don't need to be bonded. Hopefully the equipotential bonding is complete in the concrete per 547.10.
    Alos in addition to the above, the entire floor will have rubber mats covering it. will this help at all?

We do a lot of equipotential grounding in dairy barns. We would of had them install mesh or a rebar grid in the concrete and then installed bonding jumpers to the metal fence.

Since the floor is poured and the fencing is up, what did they call you in for? To install lighting and receps?

I think bonding those panels would be a good idea in regards to lightning protection.

NE (9.1 miles @5.07 Degrees from Winged Horses)
    Quote Originally Posted by wrobotronic View Post