Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Outdoor and wet location questions

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Outdoor and wet location questions

Hello all,

Have a rural commercial greenhouse network wiring project for a friend I'm trying to come up with a design and estimate for, most of it outdoor and wet location for IP cameras, and I have no experience with outdoor/wet. My past experience is all with office buildings, IT rooms, etc, and I'm having difficulty understanding the code requirements on this kind of project. The customer is trying to go as cheap as possible too of course, and has a little networking knowledge so keeps 'suggesting' ways to do things that I'm not sure meet NEC 2014 code.

Greenhouse is 50' from main building, dirt floor and steel beam frame, with heavy duty chain link fence surrounding it. All wire will be outdoor/wet/direct-burial/uvr rated. Most of my questions are conduit related:

1. Where the conduit comes up into the greenhouse, do I need a watertight jbox with fittings/cablegrips there? Since everything's a 'wet location' and wet-rated can I just bring the conduit like 6" above grade and distribute the wiring from the open conduit?

2. Similar question for the fence-line which will have a couple cameras mounted to it some distance from the greenhouse. My original plan was to go direct-burial with conduit running up to each cam, but the customer just wants me to run a short section of conduit straight out to the fence and then just tie the wire to the bottom of the chain link out to each location and up to the camera. It's a heavy-duty custom fence set in concrete but still not sure it would be considered a 'permanent structure'? If something like that is possible would a jbox/fittings be required where the conduit comes up at the fence, or could I just use a gooseneck (as long as I'm still under 360* of turns)?