Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25

Thread: garage door opener wiring

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Eatonton, Georgia
    Posts
    1,159

    garage door opener wiring

    Hi , I am having trouble finding out the proper way to install the low voltage wiring for garage door openers . Right now I just need to know what wires are needed in the floor trusses above the doors before the insulation and drywall covers them up . It is my own house and I didn't want to run the wires exposed under the ceiling . I have the 120 v recepts roughed in for the door openers in the ceiling . OK , there will be 2 garage door openers . One on a 8x8 and another on a 16x8 . I want to be able to open these with a remote control from the outside or the inside. I also want a push button control for each one on the inside where I come out from the basement into the garage , and that wall is on the opposite end of garage from the garage doors . I have heard I will need a control wire from the motor location down each side of both doors . So that is 4 wires in the ceiling and also a wire from each push button on the wall up to the ceiling and over to the motor locations . Would I also need push buttons on the inside by the door that enters the garage in case I dont have the remote or it doesnt work ? Or would I just have to walk to the buttons on the opposite wall . Is there any other wires that need to be installed now in the ceiling ? Do the censors go on the wall on both sides of the doors ? do they go on the inside or outside ? Also what is the guage and numbers of the conductors for the bell wire

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    875
    I've always run 2-wire bell wire I think 18 or 20 gauge. I like the jacketed. One run of wire from each side of the door to the opener. I always use a s/g plaster ring and trim with a plate. Then, one run of wire from the opener to the button on the wall, s/g plater ring. If you're going to install a second button for the same opener, like I have at my house, take a run from either the opener again or from the button location.

    Repeat for each door.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Eatonton, Georgia
    Posts
    1,159
    Quote Originally Posted by Chamuit View Post
    I've always run 2-wire bell wire I think 18 or 20 gauge. I like the jacketed. One run of wire from each side of the door to the opener. I always use a s/g plaster ring and trim with a plate. Then, one run of wire from the opener to the button on the wall, s/g plater ring. If you're going to install a second button for the same opener, like I have at my house, take a run from either the opener again or from the button location.

    Repeat for each door.
    Thanks Chamuit , that is the info I needed , I wanted the second button , and it would be close to the garage doors , so I can just do a 2 wire from the button to the opener same as I will for the other button , correct ? The safety reverse sensor and the remote control sensor must both be together on the sensors at the door bottom , correct ? I know I have to repeat the wiring for each door

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    875
    Yep, just wire the two buttons in parallel so that either one can close the circuit or take separate runs to each button and teminate both at the GDO.

    Which GDO are you going to use?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    Tampa, FL, USA
    Posts
    528
    I don't think bell wire is rated for inside the wall use. If you plan on burying it, keep that in mind. I use cat5 for all the garage wires and it works fine.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Durango, CO, 10 h 20 min without traffic from winged horses.
    Posts
    8,254
    Quote Originally Posted by Coppersmith View Post
    I don't think bell wire is rated for inside the wall use. If you plan on burying it, keep that in mind.
    What?

    I use cat5 for all the garage wires and it works fine.
    Realy?!
    Once in a while you get shown the light
    In the strangest of places if you look at it right. Robert Hunter

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    Tampa, FL, USA
    Posts
    528
    Quote Originally Posted by ActionDave View Post
    What?
    I used bell wire inside the wall once for low voltage LED lighting. The inspector didn't pass it because it had no markings on the wire.


    Quote Originally Posted by ActionDave View Post
    Realy?!
    Cat5 is marked and I have had it passed many times for garage door opener use.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Planet macmikeman
    Posts
    3,351
    I hope that you are not using more than one conductor of the cat 5 cable for each side of the garage door opener runs to sensors and pushbuttons, because you need 1/0 or larger conductors to run them in parallel . I just use up boxes of old burgler and fire alarm cables I have in stock from when I used to go after those type of jobs as well as lights and outlet's type of jobs. It works fine and is rated for behind the drywall in most all circumstances except plenums.
    85deg. an Sunny today.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Williamsburg, VA
    Posts
    3,666
    I personally wouldnt use cat5e, the wires are too fragile really. Seen a ton of it fail when used as t-stat wiring, some on garage doors and doorbells. On the plus side there'd be spare wires for you when it breaks.

    Some speaker and bell wire is not rated for in-wall use. Post #2 is right on for wiring the doors.

    I'd use a backed box (iow, not a LV) for the door control wiring in the ceiling.

    Last job we had to use wiremold as there was a massive load bearing beam across the entire 2 door entryway that couldnt be drilled or notched.
    Electricians do it until it Hertz!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Chapel Hill, NC
    Posts
    31,940
    Quote Originally Posted by Coppersmith View Post
    I don't think bell wire is rated for inside the wall use. If you plan on burying it, keep that in mind. I use cat5 for all the garage wires and it works fine.

    What many called bell wire is simply 2 wire T-stat wire. I used to run 3 wire just in case one wire got corrupted. No problem running that in the walls

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •