Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Shielded ground wire.

Shielded ground wire.

Hello all, I'm a new building inspector and want to do my job as best as possible. We have some controversy in regards to the need to bond the shielding at the ground clamp to rod connection. When running two ground rods with shielded grounding wire do you need 2 clamps at the first rod in order to continue the bonding of the shielding material between the two rods or is the contact of the shielding to the wire sufficiently bonded? I apologize in advance if this is a silly question, but being new to this job I want to provide the correct answer to the contractors of the area. Thank you

Durango, CO, 10 h 20 min without traffic from winged horses.
    Welcome to the forum.

Before anyone can answer your question accurately we need to establish a common vocabulary. What is a shielded ground wire and what is it connected to?

Also check out the sticky in this sub-forum "Grounding and Bonding the big picture".
    Once in a while you get shown the light
    In the strangest of places if you look at it right. Robert Hunter

Hopefully this picture works. I'm referring to ground wire from the panel to two ground rods, when its stranded it needs mechanical protection via a metal armor or shielding. Maybe I should say armored ground wire?
    Attached Images Attached Images  

would this be the appropriate clamp?
    Attached Images Attached Images  

Durango, CO, 10 h 20 min without traffic from winged horses.
    I would called that armored. I'd also say that is something I've never seen before, but I think there was a previous discussion about that stuff. 250.64 (E) is the code section that applies.

The clamp looks compliant to me. Is that armor ferris metal or aluminium? Who says stranded needs to be protected?
    Once in a while you get shown the light
    In the strangest of places if you look at it right. Robert Hunter