Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22

Thread: Binding Head Screw Terminals

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    San Clemente
    Posts
    12

    Binding Head Screw Terminals

    I would like it to be mandatory for manufacturers to put information specs in how electrical is to be connected if they choose not to provide box lug connectors.

    There is a restriction by the component manufacturer as to wire size that is allowed for a binding head terminal. HVAC Equipment manufacturer instructions have one reference the NEC for electrical connections. The photo I attached showing #8 THHN wire is not approved by the component manufacturer.

    http://imageshack.com/a/img924/8837/sLLcUF.jpg
    Last edited by Jgkopp; 06-06-17 at 01:58 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    San Clemente
    Posts
    12

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Northern illinois
    Posts
    15,499
    generally UL requires this information be included in the instructions.
    Bob

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    San Clemente
    Posts
    12
    This illustrates how we hook up larger than #10 wire to these terminals.

    http://imageshack.com/a/img923/3762/DcLvJR.jpg

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    San Clemente
    Posts
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by petersonra View Post
    generally UL requires this information be included in the instructions.
    Its not, and I agree it should be required when larger conductors may be in use.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Chapel Hill, NC
    Posts
    32,170
    The question is why is a #8 being used on those terminals. Is that the required size or is someone oversizing the circuit? The manufacturer needs to have a terminal sized for the wires needed for their unit. If it is not then letters and phone calls need to be made to the mfgr.
    They say I shot a man named Gray and took his wife to Italy
    She inherited a million bucks and when she died it came to me
    I can't help it if I'm lucky



  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    San Clemente
    Posts
    12
    This same component is used by manufacturer [Lennox Ind. & their subsidiaries] on residential HVAC Equipment 1 - 5 ton. Other manufacturers provide box lug on field hook up side of contactors. I have been harping on this subject with said manufacturer for years with no results. Looks like I have finally found a place to post my story. There are 100's of thousands of units not correctly connected.

    John

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Northern illinois
    Posts
    15,499
    Quote Originally Posted by Jgkopp View Post
    Its not, and I agree it should be required when larger conductors may be in use.
    the thing is that the terminal is labeled in some way with the largest size wire that is allowed. I don't know what more you expect of the manufacturer.

    why do you want to use a larger wire than the terminal is rated for?

    what if the terminal is only rated for #10 and someone decides to use 1/0? if that were to happen it is the installers responsibility to figure out how to do it. it is not real hard to splice a #10 conductor to the end of the 1/0 conductor so the #10 can than be connected to the terminal.
    Bob

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    San Clemente
    Posts
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by petersonra View Post
    the thing is that the terminal is labeled in some way with the largest size wire that is allowed. I don't know what more you expect of the manufacturer.

    why do you want to use a larger wire than the terminal is rated for?

    what if the terminal is only rated for #10 and someone decides to use 1/0? if that were to happen it is the installers responsibility to figure out how to do it. it is not real hard to splice a #10 conductor to the end of the 1/0 conductor so the #10 can than be connected to the terminal.
    The componet is not labeled with this information. I had to do a lot of digging to get this information.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Placerville, CA, USA
    Posts
    17,919
    Quote Originally Posted by Jgkopp View Post
    The componet is not labeled with this information. I had to do a lot of digging to get this information.
    But at least it is in the product catalog, even if few will read it there.

    Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •