Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Need 3way can't fish

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Clarkesville, Georgia
    Posts
    1,977

    Need 3way can't fish

    I know this question has been asked and answered many times, often by Dennis

    Have existing switch

    Need to add 2nd location switch, difficult to run 3wire to add 3way but does have power at 2nd location

    Answer seems to be Maestro and Pico, but when I Google get confused by too many choices, 2 button switch, compatibility, etc

    So can I humbly ask part #'so for 2 switches I need to make this work?
    Dave Ruth
    Ready Electric

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    SW Florida
    Posts
    524
    Won't need power at second location but this will work.

    No dimming - on/off only:
    1 - Lutron Caseta PD-5WS-DV-WH (no neutral +5amp) or PD-6ANS-WH (neutral+6amp)
    1 - Lutron Pico PJ2-2B-GWH-L01
    1 - Lutron PICO-WBX-ADAPT (adapter to hold Pico to wall / box)
    Decora plates as needed

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Clarkesville, Georgia
    Posts
    1,977
    Quote Originally Posted by cpinetree View Post
    Won't need power at second location but this will work.

    No dimming - on/off only:
    1 - Lutron Caseta PD-5WS-DV-WH (no neutral +5amp) or PD-6ANS-WH (neutral+6amp)
    1 - Lutron Pico PJ2-2B-GWH-L01
    1 - Lutron PICO-WBX-ADAPT (adapter to hold Pico to wall / box)
    Decora plates as needed
    Man you the best come on by shop coffee on me!
    Dave Ruth
    Ready Electric

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Chapel Hill, NC
    Posts
    32,006
    Quote Originally Posted by readydave8 View Post
    I know this question has been asked and answered many times, often by Dennis

    Have existing switch

    Need to add 2nd location switch, difficult to run 3wire to add 3way but does have power at 2nd location

    Answer seems to be Maestro and Pico, but when I Google get confused by too many choices, 2 button switch, compatibility, etc

    So can I humbly ask part #'so for 2 switches I need to make this work?

    Your best bet is to call their tech support-- 24/7

    We use the Maestro and Pico. You need to make sure the unit you buy is for LED's if you are dimming Led. They make one for LED but there are some out there that will not work for LED

    The Pico have different buttons for dimming, on/off. The two button pico is used when there is no dimming involved- costs just a few dollars more for the dimming Pico.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Clarkesville, Georgia
    Posts
    1,977
    Quote Originally Posted by Dennis Alwon View Post
    Your best bet is to call their tech support-- 24/7

    We use the Maestro and Pico. You need to make sure the unit you buy is for LED's if you are dimming Led. They make one for LED but there are some out there that will not work for LED

    The Pico have different buttons for dimming, on/off. The two button pico is used when there is no dimming involved- costs just a few dollars more for the dimming Pico.
    thank you!

    I ordered the casita, will I regret not using maestro?
    Dave Ruth
    Ready Electric

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    Kennewick
    Posts
    51
    https://www.amazon.com/Lutron-MRF2-6.../dp/B003U8Y9QA


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    Kennewick
    Posts
    51
    If you get a normal plate for the dimmer module then you can just stick the lock to the wall and then screw the plate that comes with the kit to the wall. No pico mounting plate needed


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Tennessee NEC:2008
    Posts
    4,070
    Quote Originally Posted by readydave8 View Post
    thank you!

    I ordered the casita, will I regret not using maestro?
    I have never used Maestro with a PICO. Not saying there is anything wrong with it just never have. The PICO is suggested more for the Caseta. I have used PICO once with Caseta, the dozens of other times I use the PICO is with just an RF switch. It is exactly like the Caseta but cheaper. I called Lutron and they couldn't tell me the difference.
    Not sure if the RF switch comes in a dimmer model as I only use it for on/off. It works fine with LED. It even comes with a load capacitor in case there is not enough load to allow the wireless switch to work properly.
    The number for the RF switch is:


    • Lutron PD-5S-DV-WH 5 Amp Max. 2 Button RF Switch - 120/277V White -
    If you aim at nothing, you will hit it every time!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •