Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Exposed, outdoor-rated intrinsically safe wire or cable

Exposed, outdoor-rated intrinsically safe wire or cable

Hi all,

I'm a design engineer, not an electrician. Due to a bizarre set of circumstances, I've run into a wiring question I can't answer. I thought if anyone knew, they'd probably be here.

The application is an intrinsically safe cable.

I already know that NFPA 70 allows any ordloc wiring method for IS. This does not help me much since I am not familiar with the exact details of what is allowed and not allowed for all of the various kinds of wiring methods.

So I need to know if there are any NEC-compliant wires/cables that meet the following:

- Small (about 18 AWG max)
    - Carrying one or more intrinsically safe circuits (< 6V, < 3A total for all circuits)
    - Listed to be installed outdoors (wet locations, exposed to sunlight)
    - Installed on a metallic wall (like a storage tank)
    - Allowed to be installed exposed (no raceway, conduit, struts, channels, etc.); and
    - Does not have a metallic jacket or metal armor.

The cable will be limited to about 6m (20') total and can be installed so that it is supported at just about whatever interval is necessary.

As an example, I looked at Class 2 and Class 3 cables. These would be fine except there are (seemingly) none listed for use in wet locations.

If this cable does not exist, I would appreciate any information on the next best options. Metal-jacketed cable would be a last-resort option.

I'd rather not get into why I need this, because I expect knowing the context would only confuse the issue further. Suffice to say that I'm being pushed into this by a certifications agency.

Any assistance greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Quote Originally Posted by IntrinsicSafety View Post
    Hi all,