Page 1 of 12 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Can someone please explain this to me?

Can someone please explain this to me?

I am still studying for my WV Master Electricians Exam. I have been going along pretty good but I just hit a brick wall. Here is the question from my practice test.
    A 30 amp 230 volt load is located 100 feet from the source. What is the minimum size branch circuit conductor required to operate within the limits for voltage drop that is recommended be the NEC?
    a. # 10 conductor
    b. # 8 conductor
    c. # 6 conductor
    d. #4 conductor

The book says the correct answer is B. I have no idea how to come to this conclusion. Can anyone help me?

You need to do a voltage-drop calculation based on the voltage & load supplied, spread across the choices of conductors, to see what's the smallest size that will keep the voltage drop to the NEC-suggested minimum.

Quote Originally Posted by kefox81 View Post
    I am still studying for my WV Master Electricians Exam. I have been going along pretty good but I just hit a brick wall. Here is the question from my practice test.
    A 30 amp 230 volt load is located 100 feet from the source. What is the minimum size branch circuit conductor required to operate within the limits for voltage drop that is recommended be the NEC?
    a. # 10 conductor
    b. # 8 conductor
    c. # 6 conductor
    d. #4 conductor

The book says the correct answer is B. I have no idea how to come to this conclusion. Can anyone help me?

I used a voltage drop calculator app by "Southwire" and it says #10

There are others online, try some and see what they show.

Sometimes answer keys in study material are wrong too!

Side note: as a rule of thumb, I've found that 100' doesn't change the ampacity much so just figure what's needed for the load amps if 100' or less.
    If you aim at nothing, you will hit it every time!

Can you show me please?

Quote Originally Posted by 480sparky View Post