Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 49

Thread: Is my proposed wiring practical

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    california
    Posts
    31

    Is my proposed wiring practical

    I'm about to start a wiring project, any advise would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

    Four light fixtures between two 3-way switches.
    The book suggest this wiring. see attachment.

    I suggest these changes numbered 1 through 3.
    see 'my version' drawn attachment.

    1. I will be adding a dimmer switch.
    2. The hot supply wire to the first switch uses one wire only. not cable joined
    3. The traveler wires uses 2 wire cable, no splices or wire nuts, travels directly to second switch.
    4. The hot supply from to the second switch to the fixture uses one wire only. not cable joined.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	circuit.jpg 
Views:	254 
Size:	139.4 KB 
ID:	18225   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	my version.jpg 
Views:	255 
Size:	121.8 KB 
ID:	18227  

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Chapel Hill, NC
    Posts
    32,430
    I have no idea what you have there but it would not be my way of doing it. Feed one end 3 way switch and take a return cable to the light from the other end. In between run three wire cables to each switch. Pass the neutrals thru.
    They say I shot a man named Gray and took his wife to Italy
    She inherited a million bucks and when she died it came to me
    I can't help it if I'm lucky



  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    12,347
    I am with Dennis. I do not understand your drawing.
    "Electricity is really just organized lightning." George Carlin


    Derek

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    california
    Posts
    31
    what Im trying to do is avoid wire nuts and splices of the traveler wires by
    going direct from one switch to the other, the wiring in my drawing
    accomplishes this. please reply

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    12,347
    Quote Originally Posted by bbeell@live.com View Post
    what Im trying to do is avoid wire nuts and splices of the traveler wires by
    going direct from one switch to the other, the wiring in my drawing
    accomplishes this. please reply
    How is the neutral ran?

    What exactly do you mean by "one wire only"? You cannot just run a single hot conductor by itself.
    "Electricity is really just organized lightning." George Carlin


    Derek

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Amissville, Virginia USA
    Posts
    202
    Circuit wires need to be run together. Separating the travelers in a two wire would be against code.

    Sent from my SM-T350 using Tapatalk

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Ann Arbor, Michigan
    Posts
    6,419
    170812-1613 EDT

    bbeell@live.com

    I can not read the first attachment because of black on top of black. But I believe it is wrong because of the labeling of some cables as 2 wire.

    You must always run all source lines (hots) with their associated return path (usually a neutral, but could be another hot).

    Source and return wires when very close to each other produce little external magnetic field. When these wires are separated into a larger loop, then the source line and return line magnetic fields don't do much cancelation of each other.

    Between the two three way switches you need a three wire cable, two hots and one return (neutral). Whichever hot wire is energized carrying load current will mostly cancel the magnetic field from the return wire because the three wires are in close proximity to each other.

    The load(s) should not be in the return path. Thus, you should consider all three way and any four ways and associated wiring between them as the equivalent of one single SPST switch connected to a load(s).

    .

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Bakersfield ca
    Posts
    3
    I'm with Dennis make your cans up bring that wire to your 3way box we will call it load side then take 14 3 from that box to your other 3 way box we will call it your travelers. Then in that box bring in your line side or hot leg .now a dimmer. Switch isn't connected to and existing three way switch like in your drawings dimmer switche will only work on one side. So figure out which. Switch will be used the moste and put the dimmer there

    Sent from my N9136 using Tapatalk

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Amissville, Virginia USA
    Posts
    202
    I've seen it done in the field by running just 3 wire to each switch to the outlet. Never did it this way but, they did a lot of wire Color swaping.

    Sent from my SM-T350 using Tapatalk

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Bakersfield ca
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by Daniel malack View Post
    I've seen it done in the field by running just 3 wire to each switch to the outlet. Never did it this way but, they did a lot of wire Color swaping.

    Sent from my SM-T350 using Tapatalk
    I had a contractor that swere up and down on using just 14/2 I hated it but it was to teach multiple ways but that 14/3 makes it much easier just cost a little more and make s it easier to id

    Sent from my N9136 using Tapatalk

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •