Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Bonding screw in the distribution (sub) Panel

Bonding screw in the distribution (sub) Panel

I am a home inspector trying to understand what is correct and why in the distribution (sub) panel. My understanding is that beyond the service disconnect point (main panel) (in what I call the sub panel, I believe is called a distribution panel by NEC) ground (bare copper wire) and neutral (white wire) is separated and not bonded. My question is then is the ground bus bar bonded to the panel it self with the green screw? I have asked building inspector locally and electricians locally and I can not seem to get a clear understanding. So, hopefully someone can lay this out in laymen terms so I can be a better inspector. Thank you in advance.

First off, the main distribution panel is the panel with the main disconnect. This is the only place that the neutrals and grounds are connected together. The sub panel as you stated is the correct name for the secondary panel although the nec mentions sub panel only once.

Once you leave the main panel the ground (equipment grounding conductor) is separated and only carries current when there is a fault. The neutral carries current but not the equipment grounding conductor.
    They say I shot a man named Gray and took his wife to Italy
    She inherited a million bucks and when she died it came to me
    I can't help it if I'm lucky

If the sub-panel has a separate ground bar then that is bonded directly to the enclosure. The neutral bar is not bonded past the service disconnect because doing so would cause neutral current to flow on the EGC and and possibly the metallic parts of the system.
    Rob

All responses based on the 2014 NEC unless otherwise noted

So, should the ground bus bar in the sub panel be bonded to the metal panel itself with the green screw in case the panel becomes energized?