Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Tying In new FA Device To Extg. Circuit

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    1,532

    Tying In new FA Device To Extg. Circuit

    Sorry guys use to mostly bidding new construction work. Afew questions as I’m not exactly sure what takes place when you tie in a new smoke detector to an existing 25k sq. ft office space.



    I guess I would need to know for sure if it's a class A or EOL.
    How would you tie it in to the existing loop? Would you pull back cable to an extg. initiating device then run new? Thanks.




  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    4,442
    Quote Originally Posted by mstrlucky74 View Post
    Sorry guys use to mostly bidding new construction work. Afew questions as I’m not exactly sure what takes place when you tie in a new smoke detector to an existing 25k sq. ft office space.



    I guess I would need to know for sure if it's a class A or EOL.
    How would you tie it in to the existing loop? Would you pull back cable to an extg. initiating device then run new? Thanks.


    Find the two devices closest to the new device location, A and B, say. Pull the wire back from B and if it's long enough, feed the new device, A'. Then run new cable from A' to B. That's the cleanest way to do it, assuming you have open access to all devices and the paths between them.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Placerville, CA, USA
    Posts
    17,991
    Quote Originally Posted by mstrlucky74 View Post
    Sorry guys use to mostly bidding new construction work. Afew questions as I’m not exactly sure what takes place when you tie in a new smoke detector to an existing 25k sq. ft office space.



    I guess I would need to know for sure if it's a class A or EOL.
    How would you tie it in to the existing loop? Would you pull back cable to an extg. initiating device then run new? Thanks.


    If it is EOL type and the existing device that you tie in at is not the current EOL point, then the same process described above applies. Or you could run two wires (in separate raceway??) to the nearest existing device to loop out and back again.
    If it is EOL type and you are trying to tie in at the current End Of Line, you can just extend from that device and move the EOL resistor.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    441
    It really wouldn't matter if it was a type "A" or "B", conventional, addressable, or a combination.
    Be sure you don't overload the annunciating circuit (horn, strobe, speakers).

    gadfly56 explained it best.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    1,532
    Thanks.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    3,338
    Quote Originally Posted by active1 View Post
    It really wouldn't matter if it was a type "A" or "B", conventional, addressable, or a combination.
    Actually, it does matter. If it's an addressable smoke detector system you'll need access to the program to add it. Otherwise, it will just show up as an unidentified point or, if it had the same address as another it will show up as a duplicate.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    441
    Quote Originally Posted by goldstar View Post
    Actually, it does matter. If it's an addressable smoke detector system you'll need access to the program to add it. Otherwise, it will just show up as an unidentified point or, if it had the same address as another it will show up as a duplicate.
    Ya, your right. I thought about that, but didn't want to get to detailed for here & estimating.
    Was just referring to the wiring side of things. Because that's all I figured would be doing.
    Then bring in the FA company to install, program, document, & test, as needed.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Twin Cities, MN
    Posts
    82
    You are better off contacting a low voltage/fire alarm company and talking to them about it.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •