Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Splitting up AC output after meter base?

Splitting up AC output after meter base?

Hello,

We are installing 52 amps (60 amp backfeed solar breaker) in a residence with two, 200 amp service panels side by side.

Where I work we are not allow line side taps.

My question may be obvious to some, but I have never done it before. Is there an elegant way to split the output after the production meter into two, 30 amp feeds that each land in a different panel?

I suppose I could exit the meter base and feed another combiner panel, is this a reasonable idea?

Any other ideas welcome. Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by bbartmasse r View Post
    Hello,

We are installing 52 amps (60 amp backfeed solar breaker) in a residence with two, 200 amp service panels side by side.

Where I work we are not allow line side taps.

My question may be obvious to some, but I have never done it before. Is there an elegant way to split the output after the production meter into two, 30 amp feeds that each land in a different panel?

I suppose I could exit the meter base and feed another combiner panel, is this a reasonable idea?

Any other ideas welcome. Thanks
    You cannot do it. If you did you would be combining the two services; loads on one meter could draw power from the other. You must build two separate PV systems and feed the meters separately.

Sounds totally wrong to me. First, you would completely compromise the purpose of both service disconnecting means and both solar disconnecting means. There are probably several other code violations, such as parallel conductors.

Second, when you say two service panels, are there two panels for one service? Or two services? Two meters? If the latter that can go all sorts of wrong with net-metering.

(And perhaps it's beating a dead horse, but blanket prohibitions on supply side taps are just...stupid.)