Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: breaker question

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    191

    breaker question

    found a three pole 480/277 breaker today. Only being used for one pole lighting circuit. Is this Ok ?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Placerville, CA, USA
    Posts
    18,374
    Quote Originally Posted by wireday View Post
    found a three pole 480/277 breaker today. Only being used for one pole lighting circuit. Is this Ok ?
    Wasteful, but not any kind of code violation AFAIK.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    191
    I think it was an available unused breaker, and they added a lighting circuit.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    6,644
    100% ok.
    What is esoteric knowledge today will be common knowledge tomorrow.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    San Francisco, CA, USA
    Posts
    6,954
    100% OK, but only IF you have a 480/277V system. We can assume you do because you must be using a neutral, but it's worth mentioning because we cannot see your system.
    __________________________________________________ ____________________________
    Many people are shocked when they discover I am not a good electrician...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    191
    Yes its a 277 with neutral for lighting circuit.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Williamsburg, VA
    Posts
    4,244
    Quote Originally Posted by GoldDigger View Post
    Wasteful, but not any kind of code violation AFAIK.
    I agree. Are you saying wasteful tho from the standpoint of using a 3p breaker when a single would suffice, or wasteful by using 277V when 480V, if the fixtures have xfmrs with taps for it, would be much more efficient?
    Electricians do it until it Hertz!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Placerville, CA, USA
    Posts
    18,374
    Quote Originally Posted by JFletcher View Post
    I agree. Are you saying wasteful tho from the standpoint of using a 3p breaker when a single would suffice, or wasteful by using 277V when 480V, if the fixtures have xfmrs with taps for it, would be much more efficient?
    Just the breaker.

    Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    AZ
    Posts
    2,093
    does the AHJ require you to label what is in-use and what is spare? are the unused poles of a ocpd considered "spare"?
    thats the only other thing i can think of.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    191
    I was wondering how to label as well. When I finally located it, it had no labeling. I was swapping out sodiums for LEDs.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •