Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 18 of 18

Thread: Lack of grounding-bonding near DP on a condo

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Placerville, CA, USA
    Posts
    18,461
    For lightning protection purposes, the cable shield needs to be connected to the GES at the point of entry (demarc on side of house) and a lightning protector (spark gap or gas tube typically) needs to effectively clamp the center conductor of the coax.
    You can ground the shield as many places as you want beyond that. It will typically be grounded to the EGC of the power cord of the set top box if it has one. Otherwise the cable box metal is instead grounded through the cable shield only.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Williamsburg, VA
    Posts
    4,252
    Quote Originally Posted by Tomco View Post
    I am afraid that the cable company is going to be a dead end. After this, they would never say anything except that I should be fine because they meet requirements. And besides that, "Act of Nature", of course.

    Ahead of the first splitter, you mean in the DP or that little box on the side of the house?

    Thank you, tried my best with the pics. And yes, I actually have the dead Main Board of my TV and I also have the fried HDMI Assy for the AV receiver.
    In the box in post #3, where the ground wire is. Cable co feed (single coax), then the suppresor, then the first splitter. A surge suppressor may also be an isolator, which will allow signal but no current to pass - this also will prevent a lost service neutral from using the coax as a conductor. They do have a bit of loss, so installing one on a system on the edges of its signal strength can potentially cause issues.
    Electricians do it until it Hertz!

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Hawthorne, New York NEC: 2014
    Posts
    3,194
    Thing is you have no business in that MDU box or tampering with that wiring. MDU boxes are like electric meters, it belongs to the cable company and is supposed to be secure to prevent theft of service. I understand you have a problem, but I don't know what you yourself can do about it other than complaining to the cable company. First this is a multi-unit condo not owned by you and second, none of any of what you have showed is under your control. It's not for you or us to decide if there are problems or something doesn't meet code, it belongs to the cable company and trying to get them to change something on the say so of you or an internet forum is not going to go anywhere.

    Is anyone else in the other units having similar problems?

    -Hal

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    Casselberry, FL, US
    Posts
    9
    Quote Originally Posted by hbiss View Post
    Thing is you have no business in that MDU box or tampering with that wiring. MDU boxes are like electric meters, it belongs to the cable company and is supposed to be secure to prevent theft of service. I understand you have a problem, but I don't know what you yourself can do about it other than complaining to the cable company. First this is a multi-unit condo not owned by you and second, none of any of what you have showed is under your control. It's not for you or us to decide if there are problems or something doesn't meet code, it belongs to the cable company and trying to get them to change something on the say so of you or an internet forum is not going to go anywhere.

    Is anyone else in the other units having similar problems?

    -Hal
    Dear Hal,

    I honestly do not understand your tone.

    First of all, I know it is not under my control, this is the only reason why this installment is still the way it is. Second, all the pictures were taken when cable company field technician was present. He was the one who opened the box for me on my request. And yes, so far I know about four other units who lost electronics, and several others who lost cable company equipment in that time.

    I will post an update really soon, with new pictures. My landlord, who lives in a different condo and lost a 65" Samsung LED TV, called the cable company and without any hassle, they installed a ground block for him in that little box on the side of the house that is now being attached to a ground rod.

    The reason why I posted this is simple - if the cable company cannot decide what is right and code compliant, I might have to take control of things myself. Or at least wait for HOA to come up with a solution.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Hawthorne, New York NEC: 2014
    Posts
    3,194
    Your beef is with the cable company. Really, your post doesn't even belong here as you are not related to the electrical industry. The last thing we need is our advice to you being used as evidence in a legal action.

    -Hal

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    Casselberry, FL, US
    Posts
    9
    Quote Originally Posted by hbiss View Post
    Your beef is with the cable company. Really, your post doesn't even belong here as you are not related to the electrical industry. The last thing we need is our advice to you being used as evidence in a legal action.

    -Hal
    I respect the forum rules and I am not planning on taking this to court at all, I do not know what you are talking about. Out of my 29 years, I had spent 26 in another country where people deal with their everyday problems themselves. I do not need a second income. I only want to see if there is an issue that needs to be fixed or should I just suck it up.

    Here is the picture I have taken of my landlord's latest installment, that was made by the cable co. He had to deal with the same issue and for some reason, the cable co. put on a ground block for him and grounded it. So why is that?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0705.JPG 
Views:	26 
Size:	62.9 KB 
ID:	18667   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0704.JPG 
Views:	30 
Size:	66.7 KB 
ID:	18668  

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Northern illinois
    Posts
    15,683
    I don't see anything obviously "wrong" with the install.

    I think your only real option is to install some kind of surge protection on the coax at the unit you are trying to protect.

    I don't know exactly what you mean by "lost a number of equipment already" or by "I was able to successfully trace the problem back to the coaxial cables".

    A lot of this kind of equipment has pretty high failure rates anyway, and you may have gotten just a bunch of bad equipment. Especially if it came from a cable company. I don't know how you could trace the failures back to the coax. just because they are all hooked to the coax does not mean the failure is there. i don't know what your level of expertise is in forsenic examination of failed electronic equipment but my guess is you are no where near knowledgeable enough to be making this kind of call.

    Cable Tv boxes are notorious for having firmware issues that get worse with time. I have personally had three cable TV boxes that failed. My personal opinion is it was all firmware related. It is roughly analogous to how windows computers can get worse as software updates pile up. The latest one I got has been running fine for about 3 years now.

    My suggestion - get a plug in surge protector that also has surge protection for coax and install one at each device.

    I am not recommending this particular surge protector, just showing you an example of such a unit.

    http://www.apc.com/shop/us/en/produc...YaAkReEALw_wcB

    I would also want surge protection for any ethernet cables as well.

    You might also consider a ground loop isolator. This is also not a recommendation, just an example.

    https://www.amazon.com/TII-220-Groun.../dp/B0070Q6URO

    I would be inclined to install such a device downstream of the surge protector at each unit, if I were inclined to install such a device.
    Last edited by petersonra; 10-05-17 at 12:24 PM.
    Bob

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    Casselberry, FL, US
    Posts
    9
    Quote Originally Posted by petersonra View Post
    I don't see anything obviously "wrong" with the install.

    I think your only real option is to install some kind of surge protection on the coax at the unit you are trying to protect.

    I don't know exactly what you mean by "lost a number of equipment already" or by "I was able to successfully trace the problem back to the coaxial cables".

    A lot of this kind of equipment has pretty high failure rates anyway, and you may have gotten just a bunch of bad equipment. Especially if it came from a cable company. I don't know how you could trace the failures back to the coax. just because they are all hooked to the coax does not mean the failure is there. i don't know what your level of expertise is in forsenic examination of failed electronic equipment but my guess is you are no where near knowledgeable enough to be making this kind of call.

    Cable Tv boxes are notorious for having firmware issues that get worse with time. I have personally had three cable TV boxes that failed. My personal opinion is it was all firmware related. It is roughly analogous to how windows computers can get worse as software updates pile up. The latest one I got has been running fine for about 3 years now.

    My suggestion - get a plug in surge protector that also has surge protection for coax and install one at each device.

    I am not recommending this particular surge protector, just showing you an example of such a unit.

    http://www.apc.com/shop/us/en/produc...YaAkReEALw_wcB

    I would also want surge protection for any ethernet cables as well.

    You might also consider a ground loop isolator. This is also not a recommendation, just an example.

    https://www.amazon.com/TII-220-Groun.../dp/B0070Q6URO

    I would be inclined to install such a device downstream of the surge protector at each unit, if I were inclined to install such a device.
    Thank you for your response, that ground loop isolator might be a good idea, I'll look into it!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •