Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 32

Thread: Solid wire and crimping

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Somewhere over the rainbow
    Posts
    3,198
    I assume the Burndy & llsco crimps require one crimper with multile dies. Correct?
    I searched their site and multiple crimpers came up. I got dizzy and just left.
    Any link to one specific crimper will be appreciated. I have never owned a large crimper. So I dont know what I should look for.
    Edward
    The only thing I know, is the progressive discovery of my ignorance


  2. #22
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    AZ
    Posts
    2,028
    are standard solid wire bolt lugs ok, then just bolt the two together vs looking for a butt crimp that you can put two solids in? butt is cleaner, but just asking.

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    NE (9.1 miles @5.07 Degrees from Winged Horses)
    Posts
    8,761
    No, they must be continuous. 250.62(C)(1)
    Tom
    TBLO

  4. #24
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    AZ
    Posts
    2,028
    Quote Originally Posted by ptonsparky View Post
    No, they must be continuous. 250.62(C)(1)
    250.64 perhaps ?? (2017 nec)

    (C) 1-4 explains a few options as permitted methods, etc.

    i would argue that bolting two lugs together fits into one of those

    i think "continuous" means electrical conductance continuous, and to get that there are a few ways. hence, twisting two wire ends together is not a good way.

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    NE (9.1 miles @5.07 Degrees from Winged Horses)
    Posts
    8,761
    Quote Originally Posted by FionaZuppa View Post
    250.64 perhaps ?? (2017 nec)

    i would argue that bolting two lugs together fits into one of those
    Feel free, it's your right.
    Tom
    TBLO

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    Menomonee Falls, WI, US
    Posts
    22
    splice looks solid, bare wire looks like it almost burned in half!!

  7. #27
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    AZ
    Posts
    2,028
    Quote Originally Posted by LarrywdH View Post
    splice looks solid, bare wire looks like it almost burned in half!!
    right, so the other Q is, was that splice made before or after
    if after, why would you splice to that ???

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    396
    Quote Originally Posted by FionaZuppa View Post
    care to explain
    The bare #4 running to the Ufer was originally anchored (when the house was built) by putting Tapcons through the strands and screwing it to the block wall, 35 years ago. That's just some bent stranding and surface corrosion. No lightning, open neutral, or anything else scary or nefarious. Everyone settle down; I would have cut it back further if there was damage.


    SceneryDriver

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    396
    Quote Originally Posted by ptonsparky View Post
    Looks like a metal raceway enclosing an GEC that was not properly bonded to it at either end. Perhaps a shot of lightning at some time or another, proving a picture is worth a thousand words.

    Personally, I would not bother with putting that type of splice in a box nor would it V.
    I put it in a box because it looks nicer, and it's my parents' house, so I care just that little bit more.


    SceneryDriver

  10. #30
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    AZ
    Posts
    2,028
    wouldnt that section of wire be considered "damaged" by the AHJ ??

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •