Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Wiring 3 Receptacles

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    1,706

    Wiring 3 Receptacles

    I've zoomed in pic a lot so hope you can see. Just curious here. If this was an EMT job and you had three receptacles each on a separate circuit could you run a ONE pipe down the wall containing the 3 circuits then run horizontal hitting each of the three receptacles? That's how I'd figure it. You wouldn't run three separate pipe vertically to a box in the ceiling would you? That seems wasteful. Thanks.
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    23,945
    I would connect them together in the wall. Makes no sense to run three individual stubs up into the ceiling and connect them there. With 6 CCC's there will be no derating issues.

    We did do a job once where they wanted no horizontal conduit in the walls and it said so in the spec. Seems that they were constantly re-configuring doors and walls and didn't want to have to disconnect, remove and replace the horizontal conduits.
    Rob

    Moderator

    All responses based on the 2014 NEC unless otherwise noted

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    1,706
    Quote Originally Posted by infinity View Post
    I would connect them together in the wall. Makes no sense to run three individual stubs up into the ceiling and connect them there. With 6 CCC's there will be no derating issues.

    We did do a job once where they wanted no horizontal conduit in the walls and it said so in the spec. Seems that they were constantly re-configuring doors and walls and didn't want to have to disconnect, remove and replace the horizontal conduits.
    Thought so. Thanks....and interesting about no horz. conduits. So derating is when you have MORE than 3 CCC's, correct? These receptacles require separate neutrals, I guess those are not considered CCC's?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    23,945
    Quote Originally Posted by mstrlucky74 View Post
    Thought so. Thanks....and interesting about no horz. conduits. So derating is when you have MORE than 3 CCC's, correct? These receptacles require separate neutrals, I guess those are not considered CCC's?
    No it's 6 CCC's as I stated, 3H+3N = 6 CCC's.

    #12 THHN= 30 amps*80%(4-6 CCC's) = 24 amps after adjustment.
    Rob

    Moderator

    All responses based on the 2014 NEC unless otherwise noted

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    1,706
    Quote Originally Posted by infinity View Post
    No it's 6 CCC's as I stated, 3H+3N = 6 CCC's.

    #12 THHN= 30 amps*80%(4-6 CCC's) = 24 amps after adjustment.
    Thanks. So you use the 90 degree column when finding the ampacities?
    Last edited by mstrlucky74; 10-08-17 at 11:43 AM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Chapel Hill, NC
    Posts
    32,432
    If you had 3 hots and one neutral, assuming 3 phase, then you would not count the neutral if the loads were linear.
    They say I shot a man named Gray and took his wife to Italy
    She inherited a million bucks and when she died it came to me
    I can't help it if I'm lucky



  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    23,945
    Quote Originally Posted by mstrlucky74 View Post
    Thanks. So you use the 90 degree column when finding the ampacities?
    Yes, if it's a 90° C conductor (i.e-THHN) then you can use the 90° ampacity for derating purposes. Since you stated that you have separate neutrals you end up with 6 CCC's. Nice job on the graphic is was easy to read.
    Rob

    Moderator

    All responses based on the 2014 NEC unless otherwise noted

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    1,706
    Quote Originally Posted by infinity View Post
    Yes, if it's a 90° C conductor (i.e-THHN) then you can use the 90° ampacity for derating purposes. Since you stated that you have separate neutrals you end up with 6 CCC's. Nice job on the graphic is was easy to read.

    ty

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    1,706
    If these were all the same circuit would that change your approach for connecting all three with one conduit? Would the there be any issued splicing in the boxes? Box fill? Just thinking....

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    23,945
    Quote Originally Posted by mstrlucky74 View Post
    If these were all the same circuit would that change your approach for connecting all three with one conduit? Would the there be any issued splicing in the boxes? Box fill? Just thinking....
    With the number of conductors required for either scenario, then no. Just ensure that the box is the proper size.
    Rob

    Moderator

    All responses based on the 2014 NEC unless otherwise noted

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •