Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Transformer, Single Phase 208V Primary to 230V/115V secondary

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Lafayette, La
    Posts
    2

    Transformer, Single Phase 208V Primary to 230V/115V secondary

    I have a customer that needs to convert the 230V secondary to a 220V European voltage secondary, can anyone help me with a detailed rundown/wiring diagram on how to accomplish this?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Clark County, NV
    Posts
    190
    My first thought is if the frequencies between the presumably American supply and intended European load are compatible.

    That said, I've worked all over the world, and everything I've ever used in that range could operate safely on 220 - 240 V.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    San Francisco, CA, USA
    Posts
    6,857
    Quote Originally Posted by MAC702 View Post
    My first thought is if the frequencies between the presumably American supply and intended European load are compatible.

    That said, I've worked all over the world, and everything I've ever used in that range could operate safely on 220 - 240 V.
    Agreed. Most things are good with +-10% on the voltage level itself, it's the frequency that will get you more often.
    __________________________________________________ ____________________________
    Many people are shocked when they discover I am not a good electrician...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ, USA
    Posts
    166
    Assuming the 50/60Hz frequency change and 220/230V voltage difference are acceptable, the only change is to remove the connection to the center tap on the secondary, and bond one end of the secondary to ground.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Clark County, NV
    Posts
    190
    Quote Originally Posted by mpoulton View Post
    Assuming the 50/60Hz frequency change and 220/230V voltage difference are acceptable, the only change is to remove the connection to the center tap on the secondary, and bond one end of the secondary to ground.
    Ahhh, because even though the equipment shouldn't care (right?), we technically would have a "220" V hot-to-grounded/neutral instead of a 230 V hot-to-hot?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Lafayette, La
    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by mpoulton View Post
    Assuming the 50/60Hz frequency change and 220/230V voltage difference are acceptable, the only change is to remove the connection to the center tap on the secondary, and bond one end of the secondary to ground.
    So, disconnect X2 & X3 and ground X4, which leaves you with X1 being you single 220V hot lead?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    9,952
    Quote Originally Posted by MAC702 View Post
    Ahhh, because even though the equipment shouldn't care (right?), we technically would have a "220" V hot-to-grounded/neutral instead of a 230 V hot-to-hot?
    It's nominally 230V live to neutral. It's a fudge to try get uniformity in the EU.
    My voltage at home measures 245Vac. I guess it's the same for neighbours fed from the same distribution transformer.
    At work it was, and probably still is, just under 400Vac line to line.
    Si hoc legere scis nimium eruditionis habes.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Posts
    73
    Why not a Buck-Boost Transformer ? will yield the exact voltage you want and isn't it more cost effective and you don't need the 115V.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    21,278
    Quote Originally Posted by ELLIO083 View Post
    So, disconnect X2 & X3 and ground X4, which leaves you with X1 being you single 220V hot lead?
    Do you already have the transformer?

    208VL-L to primary leads H1-H2.

    X1 = SL1, ungrounded
    Jumper X2-X3
    X4 = SL2, grounded
    I will have achieved my life's goal if I die with a smile on my face.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    9,952
    Quote Originally Posted by ELLIO083 View Post
    I have a customer that needs to convert the 230V secondary to a 220V European voltage secondary,
    European is nominally 230V
    Si hoc legere scis nimium eruditionis habes.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •