Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: ,360 degree rule

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    US
    Posts
    309

    ,360 degree rule

    I have an interesting scenario and question for you guys when running service entrance conductors from the utility to a meter Bank if the conduit is encased in two inches of concrete and considered outside the building am I allowed to have more than 360 Degrees if not what would you use to reset the 360 being that it has to be encased in concrete I'm trying to avoid an extremely expensive concrete manhole I guess my main question is does the rule apply to service entrance conductors outside the building

    Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Iowegia
    Posts
    17,623
    Quote Originally Posted by nickelec View Post
    I have an interesting scenario and question for you guys. When running service entrance conductors from the utility to a meter Bank, if the conduit is encased in two inches of concrete and considered outside the building, am I allowed to have more than 360 Degrees? If not what would you use to reset the 360 being that it has to be encased in concrete? I'm trying to avoid an extremely expensive concrete manhole. I guess my main question is does the rule apply to service entrance conductors outside the building

    Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
    Ahhh, much more comprehensible with punctuation and capitalization.

    My guess would be, yes the 360° rule still applies.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    US
    Posts
    309
    Quote Originally Posted by 480sparky View Post
    Ahhh, much more comprehensible with punctuation and capitalization.

    My guess would be, yes the 360° rule still applies.
    Sorry I was making this topic up while driving and was speaking into my phone lol.

    Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    US
    Posts
    309
    There seems to be no other option then installing the concrete pull box ,that I can think of

    Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Placerville, CA, USA
    Posts
    18,175
    The requirement for encased in concrete comes from the utility, I presume?
    Rather than a full manhole could you just go with a pull box/handhole with 2" or thicker lid?
    Not nearly as expensive.

    Also, the 360 limit is NEC, which would not apply on the POCO side of the service point. Will POCO accept more bends and do you think it could be pulled successfully?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    US
    Posts
    309
    Yes the requirement comes from the utility. What type of pull box hang whole do you mean? we're only allowed to use Concrete in this neck of the woods

    Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Placerville, CA, USA
    Posts
    18,175
    Quote Originally Posted by nickelec View Post
    Yes the requirement comes from the utility. What type of pull box hang whole do you mean? we're only allowed to use Concrete in this neck of the woods

    Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
    You can get a precast concrete box, AFAIK. If it has to have a floor too, that could be poured.
    One thing is not clear to me: Is the run actually inside the footprint of the building? If so NEC requires the concrete encasement too.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    US
    Posts
    309
    Yes the run is inside the footprint of the building that's why I'm trying to avoid a concrete or Precast box it's kind of stupid . Putting a concrete box inside of a building that is in my opinion

    Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Placerville, CA, USA
    Posts
    18,175
    Quote Originally Posted by nickelec View Post
    Yes the run is inside the footprint of the building that's why I'm trying to avoid a concrete or Precast box it's kind of stupid . Putting a concrete box inside of a building that is in my opinion

    Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
    Well, if you are going to look at it from that perspective, what is really kind of stupid is putting the meter that far inside the building, no?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    US
    Posts
    309
    I completely agree but again we come across this problem as electricians between us and the engineers and sometimes you just have to do what they want

    Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •