Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Shop made extension cords

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Forth Worth, Texas
    Posts
    1

    Shop made extension cords

    Can a normal 4 gain electrical box with knock-out and screw holes be used for a shop made extension cord.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Fl
    Posts
    16,733
    Not if it's floating.

    OSHA doesn't allow any box intended for permanent installations on "job assembled cords"

    http://www.osha.gov/pls/oshaweb/owad...ONS&p_id=20579


    2. The cord set must meet all applicable requirements of Subpart K. For example, the assembly must be marked appropriately (1926.403(g)); boxes intended for use in a permanent installation may not be used (1926.403(b)(1)(i)); cords must be connected to devices and fittings so as to provide strain relief (1926.405(g)(2)(iv)); cords passing through holes in enclosures must be protected by bushings or fittings designed for the purpose (1926.405(g)(2)(v)- fittings designed to fasten cables to metal boxes are not acceptable); and no grounded conductor shall be attached to any terminal or lead so as to reverse designated polarity (1926.404(a)(2)).


    and a follw up

    http://www.osha.gov/pls/oshaweb/owad...ONS&p_id=20709

    Roger
    Moderator

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Somewhere over the rainbow
    Posts
    3,250
    As Roger mentioned it is not allowed per OSHA, but the shop made extension cords with the proper strain reliefs, double gang 4S box with a double duplex GFCI protected works the best.
    Edward
    The only thing I know, is the progressive discovery of my ignorance


  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    NE Nebraska
    Posts
    33,771
    Quote Originally Posted by edward View Post
    As Roger mentioned it is not allowed per OSHA, but the shop made extension cords with the proper strain reliefs, double gang 4S box with a double duplex GFCI protected works the best.
    Is cheapest way to do it, I've seen many that have unused KO's pushed in or missing after spending some time in use and would rather see an aluminum bell box with threaded entries at the very least, those also not going to meet OSHA requirements though.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    San Francisco, CA, USA
    Posts
    7,037
    Not only OSHA, I've had them rejected during a Fire Marshal inspection as well. We had to unplug everything attached to them and disassemble the boxes in front of him before he would sign off on it.
    __________________________________________________ ____________________________
    Many people are shocked when they discover I am not a good electrician...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    NE Nebraska
    Posts
    33,771
    Quote Originally Posted by Jraef View Post
    Not only OSHA, I've had them rejected during a Fire Marshal inspection as well. We had to unplug everything attached to them and disassemble the boxes in front of him before he would sign off on it.
    And not replace with something acceptable? Sounds like it may get reassembled once he leaves

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Somewhere over the rainbow
    Posts
    3,250
    Quote Originally Posted by kwired View Post
    And not replace with something acceptable? Sounds like it may get reassembled once he leaves
    Of course he did not assemble it back together.

    On another note, you can't throw away good extension cords every time the ends get messed up.
    Edward
    The only thing I know, is the progressive discovery of my ignorance


  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Springfield, MA, USA
    Posts
    3,017
    What about:
    http://khindustries.com/power/portab...-outlet-boxes/
    ?

    Simply too expensive?

    -Jon

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Fl
    Posts
    16,733
    Quote Originally Posted by edward View Post

    On another note, you can't throw away good extension cords every time the ends get messed up.
    You can repair a cord with listed parts, you can not use a 4"sq box.

    Roger
    Moderator

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Somewhere over the rainbow
    Posts
    3,250
    Quote Originally Posted by roger View Post
    You can repair a cord with listed parts, you can not use a 4"sq box.

    Roger
    There is lots of things I don't know and "listed parts for extension cord repair" is one of them. Do you have a link?
    Edward
    The only thing I know, is the progressive discovery of my ignorance


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •