Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: 50 pair CAT 5e vs (2) 25 pair CAT 5e

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY
    Posts
    7

    50 pair CAT 5e vs (2) 25 pair CAT 5e

    Is there a difference between running a 50 pair cat5e and 2 - 25 pair cat5e cabling?
    How do you determine how big your cat5e has to be?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Hawthorne, New York NEC: 2014
    Posts
    3,164
    No, assuming data and if you want to run that stuff in the first place. If it's any distance convert to fiber and back.

    How do you know how many pair? 4 pair per drop.

    -Hal

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Lake of the Ozarks
    Posts
    981
    Quote Originally Posted by sergiyny View Post
    Is there a difference between running a 50 pair cat5e and 2 - 25 pair cat5e cabling?
    How do you determine how big your cat5e has to be?
    If this is for voice, I would run cat 3. There is nothing to gain by running cat5e for backbone voice. What is the application that you are needing cat5e 25 or 50 pair cable? I have never seen it done for data.

    1N73LL1G3NC3 15 7H3 4BILI7Y 70 4D4P7 70 CH4NG3.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Hawthorne, New York NEC: 2014
    Posts
    3,164
    I have never seen it done for data.
    I have- by hacks. That's what I was trying to get across. Just because somebody makes it and it says CAT5e doesn't mean that it's any good. It would have to be terminated on CAT5e 66 punch down blocks on each end then individual 4 pair CAT5e run from there to a patch panel or the jacks to have any chance of success.

    -Hal

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Placerville, CA, USA
    Posts
    18,374
    Quote Originally Posted by hbiss View Post
    I have- by hacks. That's what I was trying to get across. Just because somebody makes it and it says CAT5e doesn't mean that it's any good. It would have to be terminated on CAT5e 66 punch down blocks on each end then individual 4 pair CAT5e run from there to a patch panel or the jacks to have any chance of success.

    -Hal
    And the sheer physical space occupied by the jacks will make it almost impossible to maintain proper wire spacing and impedance from the fanout point of the cable to each of the jacks.

    There may be specialized data links and control buses that do not use all four pairs of the UTP for their communication, and those might be combined into a high pair count cable.
    Clean termination will still be a problem.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY
    Posts
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by luckylerado View Post
    If this is for voice, I would run cat 3. There is nothing to gain by running cat5e for backbone voice. What is the application that you are needing cat5e 25 or 50 pair cable? I have never seen it done for data.
    It was the requirement by a client to run 50 pair from one building to another.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,326
    Quote Originally Posted by sergiyny View Post
    It was the requirement by a client to run 50 pair from one building to another.
    But for cat 5e?

    Voice or data?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Hawthorne, New York NEC: 2014
    Posts
    3,164
    It was the requirement by a client to run 50 pair from one building to another.
    Ahh, so now it gets a little more complicated. Building entrance protectors, OSP cable, support strand (if aerial), proper ground bonding.

    You still didn't tell us if this is for voice or data.

    -Hal

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY
    Posts
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by hbiss View Post
    Ahh, so now it gets a little more complicated. Building entrance protectors, OSP cable, support strand (if aerial), proper ground bonding.

    You still didn't tell us if this is for voice or data.

    -Hal
    It's for both voice and data. Cable has to be buried in 4" conduit.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    4,737
    Quote Originally Posted by sergiyny View Post
    It's for both voice and data. Cable has to be buried in 4" conduit.
    50 pair direct burial Cat 5e is about $20/ft from what I can see on the 'net. Pricey stuff.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •