Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 33

Thread: 820 CATV, and CAT5e

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    miami, fl
    Posts
    12

    820 CATV, and CAT5e

    1) How high must the RG6 cable from Sat, or device between above the existing ground terrain?

    2) So with POE, this is running in the building, ground floor to the roof could be multiple story, with no conduit. Do I need conduit in the building and or the roof? Obviously if you say only the roof, it must be grounded. The expected current is between 125ma to 150ma.

    3) The distance from the POW injector to the router/switch can be how long?

    4) Must I ground the Cat5e that is coming from an enclosure, perhaps non metallic, on the roof to the building ground at the entry point?

    5) All openings between floors where cable passes through will need to be sealed?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Hawthorne, New York NEC: 2014
    Posts
    3,891
    1) Not sure what you are asking. Is this an aerial cable between buildings? The NEC doesn't specify clearance but I always tried to maintain 14 feet. Also see 820.44.

    2) POE (power over ethernet) cat cables do not have to be in conduit.

    3) Do you mean POE injector? The max distance should be in the equipment instructions.

    4) You don't ground the cable rather you use a protector that should be located as close to the point of building entry as possible and bonded to the service ground.

    5) Generally yes. In new construction it's required.

    -Hal

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    miami, fl
    Posts
    12
    The distance that the RG6 must off the grass or cement before it penetrates the wall to the customer.

    Yes, POE injector. So there is no specific regulation as to length of cable?

    So is bonding to an AC disconnect switch on the roof this would be acceptable.

    What about existing buildings where the hole must be made between floors?

    You can enter through an current installed roof vent, or fan exhaust?

    -Hal[/QUOTE]

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    miami, fl
    Posts
    12
    1) The distance above the ground, whether grass or cement.

    2) So no conduit, even running across the roof say 50-100ft.

    3) The POW will specify the max distance to the switch.

    4) So if you penetrate through a floor on existing structures, no problem.

    5) What about between walls interior, that are not a fire wall where you must seal the opening?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Hawthorne, New York NEC: 2014
    Posts
    3,891
    The distance that the RG6 must off the grass or cement before it penetrates the wall to the customer.
    You can put it anywhere. However I would want to protect it from lawnmowers and string trimmers as necessary.

    Yes, POE injector. So there is no specific regulation as to length of cable?
    That's up to the equipment The NEC has very little to do with LV.

    So is bonding to an AC disconnect switch on the roof this would be acceptable.
    Absolutely not. It must be run to the service entrance ground.

    What about existing buildings where the hole must be made between floors?
    Do what you want, they don't have to be sealed.

    What about between walls interior, that are not a fire wall where you must seal the opening?
    No.

    You can enter through an current installed roof vent, or fan exhaust?
    If you are a hack, yes.

    -Hal

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    30
    Quote Originally Posted by stormhawk View Post
    1) How high must the RG6 cable from Sat, or device between above the existing ground terrain?

    2) So with POE, this is running in the building, ground floor to the roof could be multiple story, with no conduit. Do I need conduit in the building and or the roof? Obviously if you say only the roof, it must be grounded. The expected current is between 125ma to 150ma.
    Use the appropriate rated cable as needed, plenum, Riser, and proper outdoor ratings as needed. You will most likely want some spacing off of the roof and maybe pipe as temperature on a roof can be extreme, in addition to direct sunlight exposure.

    3) The distance from the POW injector to the router/switch can be how long?
    Several factors come into play here, one of the biggest is voltage drop, Using a heavier guage wire such as a Cat 6 type wire, will have less resistance. decrease voltage drop and therefore permit a longer run.

    4) Must I ground the Cat5e that is coming from an enclosure, perhaps non metallic, on the roof to the building ground at the entry point?
    Any wire entering a building should be properly grounded, there is code (ie wire guage and length) methods and requirements for this. Also any wire entering a building is required by code to be sealed. Also note outdoor rated cable should be used.

    5) All openings between floors where cable passes through will need to be sealed?
    Yes fire cauliking/ stop should be used in new or existing constuction, to include pipe sealing for multi floor pipes floors.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Hawthorne, New York NEC: 2014
    Posts
    3,891
    The idea is to avoid running the cable on the roof to begin with.

    Actually CAT6 has smaller gauge conductors than CAT5.

    Any wire entering a building is required by code to be sealed.
    Where does it say that?

    Yes fire cauliking/ stop should be used in new or existing constuction, to include pipe sealing for multi floor pipes floors.
    So, if you drill a 5/16" hole through a floor and run a CAT5e up from the basement you are going to fire caulk it? Conduit and raceway risers are another story.

    -Hal
    Last edited by hbiss; 11-22-17 at 11:35 PM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    30
    [QUOTE=hbiss;1874455]The idea is to avoid running the cable on the roof to begin with.

    Actually CAT6 has smaller gauge conductors than CAT5.
    The CAT5 wire I have seen is 24 gauge, cat 6 wire is 23 guage.

    Where does it say that?
    So, if you drill a 5/16" hole through a floor and run a CAT5e up from the basement you are going to fire caulk it? Conduit and raceway risers are another story.
    An in floor rated box for that situation is required, as to floor to floor , or inwall wiring, this requires fire stop between floors.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    30

    reply


    As far as wires from the exterior, all pipes from exterior require sealing per NEC electrical code, all wires (or any penetrations) enter from the outside of the building require sealing per international energy code (IEC).


    So, if you drill a 5/16" hole through a floor and run a CAT5e up from the basement you are going to fire caulk it?
    Conduit and raceway risers are another story.
    No as with any in floor penetrations an infloor rated box is required.
    -Hal[/QUOTE]

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Hawthorne, New York NEC: 2014
    Posts
    3,891
    Post code reference please.

    -Hal

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •