Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 36

Thread: Ground Wire From Ground Rod

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    1,796

    Ground Wire From Ground Rod

    Looks like this #6 ground wire is run without conduit. What type of insulation would be needed? Thanks.
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Cherry Valley NY, Seattle, WA
    Posts
    3,530
    Quote Originally Posted by mstrlucky74 View Post
    Looks like this #6 ground wire is run without conduit. What type of insulation would be needed? Thanks.
    The ground rod is not required per NEC (and is stupid) so i think you can do whatever you want with it, as long as its done per the plans.
    Ethan Brush - East West Electric. NY, WA. MA

    "You can't generalize"

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    24,179
    Since it can also be bare any insulation will do. If it's colored then not white or gray.
    Rob

    Moderator

    All responses based on the 2014 NEC unless otherwise noted

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    2,030
    PVC coated RGS for the conduit?
    Tim
    Master Electrician
    New England
    Yesterday's Technology at Tomorrow's Prices

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    13,270
    Quote Originally Posted by tkb View Post
    PVC coated RGS for the conduit?
    And 3/4" x 10' rod. Someone wants to throw money away.
    "Electricity is really just organized lightning." George Carlin


    Derek

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    1,796
    Quote Originally Posted by infinity View Post
    Since it can also be bare any insulation will do. If it's colored then not white or gray.
    So you can run bare or thhn in direct contact with earth?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    1,796
    Quote Originally Posted by jumper View Post
    And 3/4" x 10' rod. Someone wants to throw money away.
    Why exactly is it a waste?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    24,179
    Quote Originally Posted by mstrlucky74 View Post
    So you can run bare or thhn in direct contact with earth?
    Yes.

    It's a waste because look at the size of that huge concrete electrode that's buried in the ground compared to the rod.
    Last edited by infinity; 11-22-17 at 05:33 AM. Reason: Spelling
    Rob

    Moderator

    All responses based on the 2014 NEC unless otherwise noted

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Milford, MA
    Posts
    1,644
    Quote Originally Posted by mstrlucky74 View Post
    Why exactly is it a waste?
    A lot of good info has been posted on this over the years here. A quick search should dig some up.
    Formerly J Erickson as username.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    13,270
    Quote Originally Posted by mstrlucky74 View Post
    Why exactly is it a waste?
    Rod not needed, so no GEC either. Rob Roy pipe to pole lights, not normal. Rob Roy is $$$$. Add Calweld connection also.
    "Electricity is really just organized lightning." George Carlin


    Derek

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •