Page 2 of 11 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 105

Thread: 120/208, 1Ph, 3 Wire

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    25
    It’s written on the phenolic nameplate on the Eaton panel in the original image I attached to the first post . I’m assuming it’s correct . I would prefer to have my site lighting be 208, also the run from the existing panel to the new panel is approximately 100’ so it will help me with the voltage drop. I would prefer installing a breaker in an existing panel rather than tapping the secondary of the transformer and dropping a second service .


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    12,009
    Quote Originally Posted by Sean.Day72 View Post
    It’s written on the phenolic nameplate on the Eaton panel in the original image I attached to the first post . I’m assuming it’s correct
    And that brings me back to one of my original questions. Does the Eaton panel require both 120V and 208V? The nameplate says 1ph. If you have 208V and neutral you have two phases. A-N and B-N. Hence my question..........
    Si hoc legere scis nimium eruditionis habes.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    3 Hr 2 Min from Winged Horses
    Posts
    15,584
    Quote Originally Posted by Besoeker View Post
    And that brings me back to one of my original questions. Does the Eaton panel require both 120V and 208V? The nameplate says 1ph. If you have 208V and neutral you have two phases. A-N and B-N. Hence my question..........
    Noooooo, do not mention 2 phase. That is a whole different system here.

    This is called single phase derived from 2 poles of a three phase system.

    Why?

    It just is, trust me. Confusing but true.
    "Electricity is really just organized lightning." George Carlin


    Derek

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    12,009
    Quote Originally Posted by jumper View Post
    Noooooo, do not mention 2 phase. That is a whole different system here.

    This is called single phase derived from 2 poles of a three phase system.

    Why?

    It just is, trust me. Confusing but true.
    It is two different phases and neutral.........with a phase angle between them.
    What could be simpler............
    Si hoc legere scis nimium eruditionis habes.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Cherry Valley NY, Seattle, WA
    Posts
    4,719
    Quote Originally Posted by Besoeker View Post
    It is two different phases and neutral.........with a phase angle between them.
    What could be simpler............
    You are getting very sleepy....when you wake up, you will forget all about this thread...
    Ethan Brush - East West Electric. NY, WA. MA

    "You can't generalize"

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    12,009
    Quote Originally Posted by electrofelon View Post
    You are getting very sleepy....when you wake up, you will forget all about this thread...
    Nah! Fretting about it will keep me awake all night long.............
    Si hoc legere scis nimium eruditionis habes.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    San Francisco Bay Area, CA, USA
    Posts
    8,091
    Quote Originally Posted by Besoeker View Post
    And that brings me back to one of my original questions. Does the Eaton panel require both 120V and 208V? The nameplate says 1ph. If you have 208V and neutral you have two phases. A-N and B-N. Hence my question..........
    Since we actually have 2 phase systems over here, we refer to 2-out-of-3 phases as "single phase" as well. I know that over on your side of the pond, that's often called "2 phase", but that gets confusing here.
    __________________________________________________ ____________________________
    Many people are shocked when they discover I am not a good electrician...

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    12,009
    Quote Originally Posted by Jraef View Post
    Since we actually have 2 phase systems over here, we refer to 2-out-of-3 phases as "single phase" as well. I know that over on your side of the pond, that's often called "2 phase", but that gets confusing here.
    But it's not 2 out of three. It's two plus neutral if the 120V neutral is required.
    And, sorry, we don't have two phase over here that I know of.
    Not being argumentative. Just trying to be straight with the facts. I'm sure you understand.
    Si hoc legere scis nimium eruditionis habes.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    3 Hr 2 Min from Winged Horses
    Posts
    15,584
    Just a casual prediction:

    Name:  IMG_0013.JPG
Views: 139
Size:  34.7 KB

    Click to enlarge.

    Or even better.

    https://goo.gl/images/UTDqnr
    Last edited by jumper; 12-13-17 at 06:48 PM.
    "Electricity is really just organized lightning." George Carlin


    Derek

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    9,144
    Quote Originally Posted by jumper View Post
    Noooooo, do not mention 2 phase. That is a whole different system here.
    He didn't. He said two phases. Not the same as saying "2 phase", which is a specific name given to a specific configuration of two phases.

    Quote Originally Posted by jumper View Post
    This is called single phase derived from 2 poles of a three phase system.
    120/208 is called "network" in the utility world.
    BB+/BB=?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •