Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 18 of 18

Thread: Fire alarm question

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Ocala, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,688
    Quote Originally Posted by mtfallsmikey View Post
    Don't laugh...gadfly56 is correct. I'm in the "customer" category (one of those building engineers everyone loves to hate, but I'm a nice guy), getting ready to completely gut a floor in one of my buildings, will be bypassing all devices on that floor each day during the project, but the system will have to be back up before everyone leaves for the day. Same goes for the sprinks who will be inverting the heads since the ceiling is coming out. I made that very clear to the GC doing the demo.
    I am curious exactly what you mean. I have worked in high rises many times. I would always expect that the pull stations at the exits, elevator lobby smoke detectors and sprinkler system and other building systems (smoke evac etc.) remain active on a completely gutted floor when no one is occupying (construction). I have never done a high rise without sprinklers so I don't include area smoke coverage here. Notification and area smokes shouldn't be necessary during the remodel day or night. If you desired it, I would assume it would be OK to put a temporary horn strobe in an easily visible location. I can't imagine requiring smoke detectors to be covered every day and active every night. Not that it would be wrong. Whatever the customer is willing to pay for is fine.


    I know what I don't know, and I know where to go to find it!

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,030
    Quote Originally Posted by RICK NAPIER View Post
    For NJ the fire watch requirements are found in the International Fire Code 2015 901.7
    That's a great resource, Rick. It would be a good starting point for anyone facing this issue.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    2,151
    On a offix e floor demo they don't ever have fire watch. Heard a guy say " bag and tag" referring to the fire alarm devices to remain when the space was to be gutted. Anyone know what that means?

    Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,030
    Quote Originally Posted by mstrlucky74 View Post
    On a offix e floor demo they don't ever have fire watch. Heard a guy say " bag and tag" referring to the fire alarm devices to remain when the space was to be gutted. Anyone know what that means?

    Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk
    That is mostly for the smoke detectors. Everything get demoed except the FA conductors which are wire-tied to whatever structure remains (e.g. bar joists). Individual devices are sealed with plastic bags over them to keep out the dust from the demo and construction.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    SCV Ca, USA
    Posts
    388
    Quote Originally Posted by mstrlucky74 View Post
    On a offix e floor demo they don't ever have fire watch. Heard a guy say " bag and tag" referring to the fire alarm devices to remain when the space was to be gutted. Anyone know what that means?

    Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk
    “Bag and tag” could mean remove and identify each device. You do this after going through the PLC module where you disable each input signal from each addressable input signal from each individual smoke detector (which you distinctly mentioned).

    Each removed detector will be put away for safekeeping in the duration of the demolition.
    We don't know what intentions they have.

    They may re-purpose the devices at different location without having to reprogram the PLC.
    Just reactivate the previously disabled inputs and using the same addresses.

    Saves them from reprogramming the entire caboodle.

    Wrapping them with Ziplock is what painters do.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,030
    Quote Originally Posted by myspark View Post
    “Bag and tag” could mean remove and identify each device. You do this after going through the PLC module where you disable each input signal from each addressable input signal from each individual smoke detector (which you distinctly mentioned).

    Each removed detector will be put away for safekeeping in the duration of the demolition.
    We don't know what intentions they have.

    They may re-purpose the devices at different location without having to reprogram the PLC.
    Just reactivate the previously disabled inputs and using the same addresses.

    Saves them from reprogramming the entire caboodle.

    Wrapping them with Ziplock is what painters do.
    You don't want to do that with EST panels. They actually measure the distance from each device to the panel and it creates a "map" of the system. If you relocate devices, you can get the much-dreaded "map fault".

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    2,151
    Quote Originally Posted by gadfly56 View Post
    You don't want to do that with EST panels. They actually measure the distance from each device to the panel and it creates a "map" of the system. If you relocate devices, you can get the much-dreaded "map fault".
    So what would you do during a demo for existing devices to remain or be relocated.

    Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,030
    Quote Originally Posted by mstrlucky74 View Post
    So what would you do during a demo for existing devices to remain or be relocated.

    Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk
    The easiest thing for you to do is take each device of the surface it's mounted to, bag it and tape the bag shut and then secure it to some element you're pretty sure isn't going to get demo'd like a column or bar joist. This doesn't help a lot if the goal is to keep the system operational during the remodel. Talk to the customer, the GC, and the fire official about the approach to take. Everybody needs to be on board with the solution. You shouldn't do this work in a vacuum.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •