Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Breaker Replacement

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    2,215

    Breaker Replacement

    Have to replace a 5000a main breaker which is beingfurnished by others. Assuming they contacted manufacturer of gear. Could thisbe a simple remove and replace in kind. What issues could there be in replacingthis breaker. Thanks.
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Clark County, NV
    Posts
    1,209
    I'd be surprised if the answer to how easy it is doesn't depend on the make/model.

    Do you know why it needs to be replaced? That might matter, too.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    New York, 40.7514,-73.9925
    Posts
    4,580
    Was there a 5000A there before and it is being replaced in kind? Or was there something else there and it is being upsized?

    UL listed 5000A breakers have only been around for .... maybe 15 or 20 years or so, so for it to have to be replaced, is interesting.
    Last edited by ron; 12-27-17 at 11:23 AM.
    Ron

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    6,794
    Can't tell you much without knowing the details on the breaker.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    856
    Quote Originally Posted by ron View Post
    Was there a 5000A there before and it is being replaced in kind? Or was there something else there and it is being upsized?

    UL listed 5000A breakers have only been around for .... maybe 15 or 20 years or so, so for it to have to be replaced, is interesting.
    Yes..interesting.
    I would need a load study, coordination study, and an updated preventative maintenance on the board.

    How would you know where to set the trip rating?

    I'm surprised the gear rep who sold the breaker didn't offer their services to do it turnkey

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Cherry Valley NY, Seattle, WA
    Posts
    4,734
    Quote Originally Posted by cdslotz View Post

    I'm surprised the gear rep who sold the breaker didn't offer their services to do it turnkey
    Oh they might have. The offer probably came with several wheelbarrows with which they would have you fill with money

    I had a bad 1200 amp breaker in a switchboard a while back. It was obsolete which complicated things. Square D wanted 20k to come out and retrofit one of their R-frame breakers.
    Ethan Brush - East West Electric. NY, WA. MA

    "You can't generalize"

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    2,215
    Quote Originally Posted by MAC702 View Post
    I'd be surprised if the answer to how easy it is doesn't depend on the make/model.

    Do you know why it needs to be replaced? That might matter, too.

    Not sure what size breaker was there prior. But thee scope of work is interesting. In short they are installing fuel cells/energy servers that are supplementing some of the Con Ed power because at peak demand the grid/con Ed is strained.
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    856
    Quote Originally Posted by electrofelon View Post
    Oh they might have. The offer probably came with several wheelbarrows with which they would have you fill with money
    True...but I could sub it out to one of my testing firms cheaper I'm sure. Either way...that's the only way I do this

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •