Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: USB memory sticks

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    NE (9.1 miles @5.07 Degrees from Winged Horses)
    Posts
    9,697

    USB memory sticks

    I bought some Lexar Jumpdrives to use in an older HMI, 4yrs maybe, that would normally use a 4G max. The smallest new ones I could find were a 3 pack of 16G each. The HMI will not recognize them. I'll try to find some smaller Scandisk but what else could be giving me grief?
    Tom
    TBLO

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Fort Collins, Colorado
    Posts
    2,638
    Quote Originally Posted by ptonsparky View Post
    I bought some Lexar Jumpdrives to use in an older HMI, 4yrs maybe, that would normally use a 4G max. The smallest new ones I could find were a 3 pack of 16G each. The HMI will not recognize them. I'll try to find some smaller Scandisk but what else could be giving me grief?
    Is it possible that the HMI only recognizes FAT32 and the drives are formatted NTFS? Check the formatting and re-format to FAT32 if needed and see if that works.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Roughly 5346 miles from Earls Court
    Posts
    2,600
    Try formatting them for a smaller file system; often it's not the device size but the partition size. Also 4G was the size limit of the FAT32 FS, so if it's 16G it probably came as exFAT and the HMI doesn't understand that.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    SCV Ca, USA
    Posts
    328
    How can you reformat when the machine doesn't even know if there is something that shows in the BIOS.

    I would go to the BIOS and see if the USB is registering. If it does you need to conduct a low level reshaping the available space.

    This will require sacrificing some available space...which negates your goal to achieve more space.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    1,388
    Quote Originally Posted by myspark View Post
    This will require sacrificing some available space...which negates your goal to achieve more space.
    I don't see that goal stated.
    The more they overthink the plumbing, the easier it is to stop up the drain

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    SCV Ca, USA
    Posts
    328
    Even if it is not OPs goal you can't do anything if the USB remains incommunicado--much less reformatting.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Placerville, CA, USA
    Posts
    19,284
    Quote Originally Posted by myspark View Post
    Even if it is not OPs goal you can't do anything if the USB remains incommunicado--much less reformatting.
    Which is why you reformat the drives in a separate computer before trying to use them.
    As long as the HMI recognizes a partition table you can create a 4GB FAT first partition and ignore the rest. There should not be an incompatibility at the hardware level.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Roughly 5346 miles from Earls Court
    Posts
    2,600
    Quote Originally Posted by myspark View Post
    How can you reformat when the machine doesn't even know if there is something that shows in the BIOS.
    You stick it in a machine that does recognize it and reformat there (and if your regular computer doesn't see it, toss that one and get another). Given how cheap these things are now, and how long a reformat takes, it's a really simple diagnostic. (And if the HMI only recognizes 4G partitions, it doesn't matter how much bigger the USB stick is.)

    ETA- GoldDigger and I seem to be reading/posting at the same time.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    NE (9.1 miles @5.07 Degrees from Winged Horses)
    Posts
    9,697
    They Old Working stick and the Non Working new are both FAT32 and when I check properties they are appear to be set up the same.

    I checked them both on my laptop.

    The HMI has an internal address that can be accessed as an indicator on the screen to show if the memory stick is available or not. Green or Orange respectively in this case.
    Tom
    TBLO

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    NE (9.1 miles @5.07 Degrees from Winged Horses)
    Posts
    9,697
    Well, a used Kingston 16G stick works on the identical HMI I have at home, but the new Lexars don't.

    May I assume that the USB 2 is backwards compatible to whatever is on the HMI? I don't know what the Kingston is.
    Tom
    TBLO

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •