Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 21

Thread: 120Vac smoke detector with alarm relay

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    5,488
    Quote Originally Posted by nec_addicted View Post
    Branch circuits supplying power to single and multiple-station smoke alarms such as those in dwelling units are not subject to the requirements of article 760. Therefore listed for purpose smoke detection matched to a fire alarm panel and it's listing might fall under an exception not contemplated. UL circuit directory and FM Directory in its listing may offer the identical comment in your follow up consideration reply.

    Since the OP (PLFA) also is centered around enclosures and conductor types try looking at 760.3, 760.121, 760.139, 760.179 then go back to 760.135 (E) to determine if those satisfy your OP with concerns about the detection and the fire alarm panel. It is entirely possible the smoke detectors are UR and not UL or that some detectors in your SLC may be incorporated with 770.113 (B) and those are used for a smoke control system which could have 120VAC with damper controls as a cause and effect matrix.
    Hold on there, Hoss! Slow your roll! This is a residential application/interface with a fire alarm system. Take a standalone or 120VAC connected smoke alarm with relay and talk to a UL-listed fire alarm panel. This is not smoke control in a high-rise.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    5,488
    Quote Originally Posted by jumper View Post
    4x4 box with divider and plaster ring with round opening?

    I have no idea if this would work, just popped into head.
    I looked at the Gentex installation instructions for one model, and I thing your idea is a good one.

  3. #13

    120VAC Smokes

    Well possibly smoke exhaust systems could go into any that wants it I had a boss once where we put variable speed drives on his swamp coolers for his garage so oh well some of us are nuts

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Omaha, Ne
    Posts
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by nec_addicted View Post
    Acknowledge is part of UROX and UTGT
    Thanks for all the input. So, to be clear, PLFA conductors and line voltage can be in the same box behind a Gentex 9120F without a barrier when the smoke detector is in a dwelling? The other end of the PLFA cable terminates on a Firelite MMF-300.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    3 Hr 2 Min from Winged Horses
    Posts
    14,191
    Quote Originally Posted by gadfly56 View Post
    I looked at the Gentex installation instructions for one model, and I thing your idea is a good one.
    So, does that mean I am forgiven and can quit worrying about the fellas with names that sound like pasta.....?
    "Electricity is really just organized lightning." George Carlin


    Derek

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Omaha, Ne
    Posts
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by jumper View Post
    So, does that mean I am forgiven and can quit worrying about the fellas with names that sound like pasta.....?
    The four square is a good idea to me. I am checking with Gentex to make sure this solution does not void the product listing. The depth of the harness into the box might be an issue.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    5,488
    Quote Originally Posted by jumper View Post
    So, does that mean I am forgiven and can quit worrying about the fellas with names that sound like pasta.....?
    Dis time, dis time...

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    5,488
    Quote Originally Posted by bbomaha View Post
    Thanks for all the input. So, to be clear, PLFA conductors and line voltage can be in the same box behind a Gentex 9120F without a barrier when the smoke detector is in a dwelling? The other end of the PLFA cable terminates on a Firelite MMF-300.
    I think you still need a barrier to isolate the 120 and Class 2/2. The ones that come with the standard modules from most providers should work. This one is from Siemens:

    Name:  module barrier.jpg
Views: 121
Size:  18.7 KB

    They usually come with every module but just as usually get pitched as they are rarely needed. They are made of stiff cardboard, so in a pinch you could probably roll your own.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    447
    Quote Originally Posted by gadfly56 View Post
    I think you still need a barrier to isolate the 120 and Class 2/2. The ones that come with the standard modules from most providers should work. This one is from Siemens:

    Name:  module barrier.jpg
Views: 121
Size:  18.7 KB

    They usually come with every module but just as usually get pitched as they are rarely needed. They are made of stiff cardboard, so in a pinch you could probably roll your own.
    That'll have to be UL-listed cardboard...



    SceneryDriver

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Omaha, Ne
    Posts
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by SceneryDriver View Post
    That'll have to be UL-listed cardboard...



    SceneryDriver
    I have a fantastic one fit all solution
    Last edited by GoldDigger; 01-26-18 at 02:00 AM. Reason: Fixed QUOTE tag

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •