Thread: exam question?

exam question?

i am studying for my Philadelphia masters exam and came across a question that may seem easy to many of you but it is alittle confusing to me..."which of the following may be used to insure continuity of the equipment grounding conductor in a branch circuit?" choices are a)connections to lampholders or b)terminals of receptacles. I would say you can use both assuming that the receptacle and lampholder have an equipment grounding conductor terminal. am I correct in my assumption?

A receptacle has only one terminal listed for only one conductor so it cannot be used for continuity of the EGC.
    Rob

All responses based on the 2014 NEC unless otherwise noted

Quote Originally Posted by infinity View Post
    A receptacle has only one terminal listed for only one conductor so it cannot be used for continuity of the EGC.
    I don't quite understand? if you put your test leads on the neutral terminal and the grounding terminal wouldn't you be able to read continuity back at the panel?

Quote Originally Posted by journeyman0217 View Post
    I don't quite understand? if you put your test leads on the neutral terminal and the grounding terminal wouldn't you be able to read continuity back at the panel?
    Yes, neutral and ground at a receptacle will show continuity when you put meter leads on them. That said, you cannot use the ground (green) screw terminal of a receptacle to maintain continuity for the grounding pathway. If you have 2 or more cables or ground wires entering a jbox, the grounds must be tied together and a pigtail run the the receptacle. Removing the receptacle cannot break the grounding pathway. If it's pigtailed to, removing that pigtail still keeps the circuit's ground path intact. Code section 250.148:

https://www.jadelearning.com/jadecc/...p?imDif=3073.0
    Electricians do it until it Hertz!

Quote Originally Posted by JFletcher View Post