Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: embedded cable and conduits

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    2,015

    embedded cable and conduits

    guys the spec is allowing us to run conduits in the slab up to 3". i believe there would be significant saving running our branch and hr's in poured slab. we can use pvc coated mc for branch and emt or hr's.

    any thoughts? thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    25,188
    What type of building, apartment house?
    Rob

    Moderator

    All responses based on the 2014 NEC unless otherwise noted

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    2,015
    Quote Originally Posted by infinity View Post
    What type of building, apartment house?
    hotel....

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Soldotna, AK, USA
    Posts
    124
    Quote Originally Posted by mstrlucky74 View Post
    guys the spec is allowing us to run conduits in the slab up to 3". i believe there would be significant saving running our branch and hr's in poured slab. we can use pvc coated mc for branch and emt or hr's.

    any thoughts? thanks
    Make sure your guys are good at stripping MC-HL for stuffing. If it's done after stuffs poured, and a conductor gets knicked when stripping/stuffing cables into boxes, not a good time.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Williamsburg, VA
    Posts
    5,438
    Quote Originally Posted by mstrlucky74 View Post
    guys the spec is allowing us to run conduits in the slab up to 3". i believe there would be significant saving running our branch and hr's in poured slab. we can use pvc coated mc for branch and emt or hr's.

    any thoughts? thanks
    Why? Large feeders, perhaps, but your other option is going up then back down to your panels and j-boxes. I haven't done such a project, however w/o walls in place, wouldnt your conduits emerging from slab have to be placed more or less exactly perfect to avoid winding up in the walls, or 12" from a wall when it needs to be 6"? I know this is done all the time, however it seems that the layout would take more time and skill than going up to the ceiling and back down. If you miss anything or a change order (or mistake) is made, you'll have to go the latter route anyway.

    Also, if you have just 3", you cant have any crossover of larger conduits in the slab, and only one of 1.5" or smaller, amiright?

    Will standard EMT even hold up in concrete?
    Electricians do it until it Hertz!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    2,015
    Quote Originally Posted by JFletcher View Post
    Why? Large feeders, perhaps, but your other option is going up then back down to your panels and j-boxes. I haven't done such a project, however w/o walls in place, wouldnt your conduits emerging from slab have to be placed more or less exactly perfect to avoid winding up in the walls, or 12" from a wall when it needs to be 6"? I know this is done all the time, however it seems that the layout would take more time and skill than going up to the ceiling and back down. If you miss anything or a change order (or mistake) is made, you'll have to go the latter route anyway.

    Also, if you have just 3", you cant have any crossover of larger conduits in the slab, and only one of 1.5" or smaller, amiright?

    Will standard EMT even hold up in concrete?
    Good points. EMT can be used with concrete tight fittings

    Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    25,188
    Quote Originally Posted by JFletcher View Post

    Also, if you have just 3", you cant have any crossover of larger conduits in the slab, and only one of 1.5" or smaller, amiright?

    Will standard EMT even hold up in concrete?
    I think he meant conduits up to 3" not a 3" slab.
    Rob

    Moderator

    All responses based on the 2014 NEC unless otherwise noted

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    2,015
    Quote Originally Posted by infinity View Post
    I think he meant conduits up to 3" not a 3" slab.
    I did...sorry.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Williamsburg, VA
    Posts
    5,438
    Quote Originally Posted by infinity View Post
    I think he meant conduits up to 3" not a 3" slab.
    Yes, I gathered he meant 3" conduits... if that is the upper limit, then I'd presume any combination of conduits can't exceed the same 3 inches. For example, I doubt he could have a 2" conduit cross over another 2" conduit, otherwise using a 4" conduit would be allowed, no?
    Electricians do it until it Hertz!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •