Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345
Results 41 to 50 of 50

Thread: More than one wire under a screw terminal

  1. #41
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    NE Nebraska
    Posts
    36,739
    Quote Originally Posted by shockboy View Post
    i would have use a crimp terminal, pin type. crimp the grounds together, insert the pin under the screw.
    Unless that crimp fitting is listed for that combination of conductors, did you really accomplish anything?
    I live for today, I'm just a day behind.

  2. #42
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Southern Ca, USA
    Posts
    416
    Quote Originally Posted by jap View Post
    Nah....no use to ruin a perfectly good looking factory paint job.


    JAP>
    I just sand the back and install a star washers behind the screws. Overkill I know but it looks clean.

    As for the OP's panel, I would twist them all together, green heat shrink over that and land on one terminal. So now you have 3 wires under the
    terminal which might not be rated for 3. So sometimes I crimp a Ferrule on them and land that.

  3. #43
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    Los Angeles CA
    Posts
    154
    It just looks sloppy to me code issues aside. I would run three #12 or #14 green THHN from the terminal block to the ground bar.

  4. #44
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    3,525
    Quote Originally Posted by Andy Delle View Post
    It just looks sloppy to me code issues aside. I would run three #12 or #14 green THHN from the terminal block to the ground bar.
    Why not just drop off the EGC's on the ground bar to begin, forget the ground terminal blocks on the dinrail, and save all the extra hassle ?

    JAP>

  5. #45
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Bremerton, Washington
    Posts
    7,836
    I work in control panels almost daily, those DIN rail terminals don't have the same restrictions/listing (one lug one wire) as regular terminals do. The instructions for the ones I work don't say 1 12 AWG or 2 14 AWG, its typically based on total cross sectional area, MM2.
    Those look like phoenix terminals, what do the instructions say?
    I typically will put two wires in one terminal...
    Moderator-Washington State
    Ancora Imparo

  6. #46
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Southern Ca, USA
    Posts
    416
    You are right, it is typical to see 2 wires on terminal blocks. Usually machines aren't built this way but if designs change, then you get the multiples.
    Mostly on the supplies. I like to add spare supply terminals when I build a panel.

  7. #47
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Southern Ca, USA
    Posts
    416
    You are right, it is typical to see 2 wires on terminal blocks. Usually machines aren't built this way but if designs change, then you get the multiples.
    Mostly on the supplies. I like to add spare supply terminals when I build a panel.

  8. #48
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Southern Ca, USA
    Posts
    416
    ooops

  9. #49
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    NE Nebraska
    Posts
    36,739
    Quote Originally Posted by Aleman View Post
    ooops
    Is also typical to see two identical posts from some people
    I live for today, I'm just a day behind.

  10. #50
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Southern Ca, USA
    Posts
    416
    Quote Originally Posted by kwired View Post
    Is also typical to see two identical posts from some people


    Ah well. I'm sure I won't be the last

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •