User Tag List

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Phase converter voltage deviation.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Phase converter voltage deviation.

Hello first time posting here, that I can remember at least. Looong post.
    I am an hvacr Tech and I have a question on a 3-phase Chiller and pump being powered by a roto phase. What I've always understood as far as supplied voltage and voltage under load, I should be within or less than 2% deviation. I usually get this by adding the three voltages dividing by 3 and then calculating how far off the farthest one is from that. So what I have on this phase converter is 275 254 + 240 volts when the 208-230 3 phase pump motor starts at 3 horsepower. All phase converter capacitors connected. I will read 9.8 amps 7.7 and 7.7. F L A is 8.4.

Now my understanding is that never should I have a motor running with any leg over FLA , but the phase converter manufacturer says that is fine, the motor supplier says that is fine. However if I read information from Fluke or US Motors, or another phase converter manufacturer, they all say that is not o.k.

So the phase converter manufacturer said to disconnect a few of the Run capacitors , to drop the voltage , and that would steady out the amps and bring them lower. The amps did not drop they actually went to 5, 8, 9.8. At new voltages of 235, 235, 246. 3% deviation.
    The chiller itself, (when running one of the 4 compressors) the amps on it run 30-27 and 13 at 3% voltage deviation.
    Another thing that I have read is a 3% voltage deviation can result in 50% reduction of motor life due to insulation over-heat.
    Both amp draws deviate by 40%! 10% is allowable.

I'll bet you want more specific equipment info but I don't have that right now. Site is 3 hours away.
    I could get more from others tho.

I'd love to know what you guys say about this. Maybe just more generic input about deviation.
    Thanks