Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
Results 31 to 38 of 38

Thread: Generac vs. Kohler

  1. #31
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Cherry Valley NY, Seattle, WA
    Posts
    4,392
    I just looked at a fairly new TV. The data plate said 100-250 volts, 50 or 60hz. I dont think it is very picky about its power input
    Ethan Brush - East West Electric. NY, WA. MA

    "You can't generalize"

  2. #32
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Durango, CO, 10 h 20 min without traffic from winged horses.
    Posts
    9,563
    Quote Originally Posted by electrofelon View Post
    I just looked at a fairly new TV. The data plate said 100-250 volts, 50 or 60hz. I dont think it is very picky about its power input
    Well my boom box didn't get hit with 250V and it still went pffffft.

    I think modern electronics are more robust, especially with SMPS being installed in everything now. I have heard that furnace control boards can be blown by little generators, although that may be anecdotal since furnace control board go out all the time anyway.
    If you go and decide to dance with a gorilla the dance ain't over till the gorilla decides it's over.

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Northern illinois
    Posts
    16,796
    I have also been looking at some of the lithium ion battery power stations. They are kind of pricey but for a short-term power outage they might make some sense. They also make no noise. They can be recharged off of solar panels if you have some. They make some sense for camping cuz of the quietness. Did I mention they are kind of pricey? That's pretty much the primary flaw with using them.
    Bob

  4. #34
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Williamsburg, VA
    Posts
    5,438
    Most battery types have a finite life, a maximum number of charge and discharge Cycles. Lithium ion can also catch fire if damaged.

    As for the Generac versus Kohler topic, Kohler generators must be more than just a little bit more expensive than Generac, because Generac is all you see here. I bet they outnumber Kohler 100 to one here in the residential market. As for Generac reliability issues, we have had few problems with the units we've installed. Long term, I don't know how they will fare, haven't seen too many units over 10 years old

    As to gars question, I would define dirty power as anything does not have a true sine wave output at a stable frequency. Some inverters have a square wave output, some generators deviate too much from 60 hertz
    Last edited by JFletcher; 03-18-18 at 11:29 PM.
    Electricians do it until it Hertz!

  5. #35
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    AZ
    Posts
    2,324
    Quote Originally Posted by electrofelon View Post
    I just looked at a fairly new TV. The data plate said 100-250 volts, 50 or 60hz. I dont think it is very picky about its power input
    hmmm, ok, so when you get the new TV try feeding it "120v" 60Hz sawtooth.

  6. #36
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Cherry Valley NY, Seattle, WA
    Posts
    4,392
    Quote Originally Posted by FionaZuppa View Post
    hmmm, ok, so when you get the new TV try feeding it "120v" 60Hz sawtooth.
    I dobut it would matter. It's just going to rectified, filtered, and switched at high speeds.
    Ethan Brush - East West Electric. NY, WA. MA

    "You can't generalize"

  7. #37
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Williamsburg, VA
    Posts
    5,438
    Quote Originally Posted by electrofelon View Post
    Were you serious? (about the first part). I had a Milwaukee boom box that I blew up, but that was because I hacked into it so I could run it off 12volts and I give it wrong polarity IT did take me a while to get over it.
    I blew up a UPS like that one time. Strip the ends off of it to hook it up to a riding lawn mower battery, forgot which was which, 50 50 90, you know what happened.... a rather unceremonious pop, didn't work anymore.

    The second UPS....
    Electricians do it until it Hertz!

  8. #38
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    AZ
    Posts
    2,324
    Quote Originally Posted by electrofelon View Post
    I dobut it would matter. It's just going to rectified, filtered, and switched at high speeds.
    I think it does matter. But dont listen to me, call up Cyberpower folks and ask them why their PFC output stage is important.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •