Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Multiple E-stop 1 enclosure

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Des Moines, Iowa, USA
    Posts
    1

    Multiple E-stop 1 enclosure

    I have a customer that has a couple of process machines with multiple E-stops in 1 enclosure. Is there any code in the NEC or OSHA stating this as a code violation? I feel that it is unsafe but If i had code to back me up it would help out. picture attached

    any help is appreciated!
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Northern illinois
    Posts
    16,900
    Quote Originally Posted by Ryan_at_Aspen View Post
    I have a customer that has a couple of process machines with multiple E-stops in 1 enclosure. Is there any code in the NEC or OSHA stating this as a code violation? I feel that it is unsafe but If i had code to back me up it would help out. picture attached

    any help is appreciated!
    what is wrong with having zone estops?
    Bob

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    San Francisco Bay Area, CA, USA
    Posts
    8,032
    There's no code saying that you have to have E-Stops at all...
    __________________________________________________ ____________________________
    Many people are shocked when they discover I am not a good electrician...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    NE (9.1 miles @5.07 Degrees from Winged Horses)
    Posts
    9,964
    I would prefer to shut down only the process involved vs the whole plant.
    Tom
    TBLO

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Williamsburg, VA
    Posts
    5,438
    Quote Originally Posted by Jraef View Post
    There's no code saying that you have to have E-Stops at all...
    680.41 for spas, surely gas stations too since all the ones I know have a clearly labelled and readily accessible e-stop button.
    Electricians do it until it Hertz!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Placerville, CA, USA
    Posts
    19,541
    Not a code issue, but a signing and safety design issue: Somebody in a big hurry has to know with some certainty which e-stop controls which machine(s) or else they will just hit all of them to be sure.
    Having your e-stop close to the controlled machine makes the association clearer, but can also make it harder to find than a central location.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Northern illinois
    Posts
    16,900
    Quote Originally Posted by GoldDigger View Post
    Not a code issue, but a signing and safety design issue: Somebody in a big hurry has to know with some certainty which e-stop controls which machine(s) or else they will just hit all of them to be sure.
    Having your e-stop close to the controlled machine makes the association clearer, but can also make it harder to find than a central location.
    I would suggest this. It is extremely rare that estops are actually used in a situation that is safety related. It just does not happen. It is about trying to prevent damage or further damage to equipment as opposed to actual safety.

    If it is about safety, someone really screwed up with the design of the equipment because it should never get to the point where you have to hit the estop to prevent someone from being harmed.

    i have seen estops tripped hundreds of times. not once has it been to prevent harm to a human being. always to reduce or prevent machine damage.
    Bob

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •