Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345
Results 41 to 48 of 48

Thread: Microwave circuit

  1. #41
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Tennessee NEC:2008
    Posts
    4,673
    Quote Originally Posted by ramsy View Post

    Sierra Sparky belly aches about attending the Continuing Education Units (CEU) provided at his local IAEI meetings or elsewhere, because its not mandated for Licensed-Electrical contractors in our State, but we both know without it reasonable people can't be expected to master 900+ pages of this code, much less depend on a journeymen who's getting laid off next week.
    Quote Originally Posted by Sierrasparky View Post
    Oh so you are a Mavin or have personal knowledge as to how much CEU I have. I usually get about 30 hours per year of non-required CEU. I took 3 classes on code updates recently.
    Some where online, however I bet you don't think that Qualifies.

    Besides do you want to go down this road. You don't have a current journeyman's card according to the DIR website nor do you have a Contractors license. You did have a JC but you let it lapse.
    Guys, please stop with the personal "gouges".
    If you aim at nothing, you will hit it every time!

  2. #42
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    LA basin, CA
    Posts
    1,805
    Quote Originally Posted by electrofelon View Post
    No I wouldn't. I would rather install one of those breaker lockouts than make up a recep, cord and cap. IMO its cheaper and quicker.
    No such animal exists for all breaker brands, Quads, Twins, Pushmatic, much less AFCI breakers, or Duel Functions for that hardwired Dishwasher?
    Roger Ramjet NoFixNoPay

  3. #43
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Cherry Valley NY, Seattle, WA
    Posts
    4,396
    Quote Originally Posted by ramsy View Post
    No such animal exists for all breaker brands, Quads, Twins, Pushmatic, much less AFCI breakers, or Duel Functions for that hardwired Dishwasher?
    I don't follow your reasoning. Why are you so against these things? One could say the same thing about circuit breakers when adding or changing an appliance.
    Ethan Brush - East West Electric. NY, WA. MA

    "You can't generalize"

  4. #44
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    NE Nebraska
    Posts
    37,101
    Quote Originally Posted by ramsy View Post
    Would you agree the cord & plug microwave disconnect is less trouble than hardwired, since you don't need to carry around lock kits in your truck(s).
    Quote Originally Posted by LarryFine View Post
    I've never seen a MW that didn't come with an attached cord and plug, counter-top or above-range.
    I agree when it comes to what you would find in a typical dwelling. Something you are more likely to find in a commercial setting could come without a cord and have option to install a cord or hard wire it. When I first mentioned less then 300 VA or 1/8 HP I was mostly thinking typical residential range hood with no microwave. Those were and still are usually hard wired. Though even with the 2017 change - many have unit switches that meet qualifications so still not really a problem.

    Quote Originally Posted by ramsy View Post
    No such animal exists for all breaker brands, Quads, Twins, Pushmatic, much less AFCI breakers, or Duel Functions for that hardwired Dishwasher?
    Eaton has them for both their lines - they work on AFCI/GFCI's so does Square D on both their lines. Not familiar with GE or Siemens, but willing to bet they have them also. You do have to buy the one that fits whatever it is you have.

    Those universal handle locks that fit most anything don't meet requirements of 110.25

    Retired items like Pushmatic, FPE, Zinsco, etc. - probably better off to plan to use some other method. If at a dwelling, chances are you are already looking for other methods because of AFCI rules and no AFCI breakers to fit your panel.
    I live for today, I'm just a day behind.

  5. #45
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    LA basin, CA
    Posts
    1,805
    Quote Originally Posted by electrofelon View Post
    I don't follow your reasoning. Why are you so against these things? One could say the same thing about circuit breakers when adding or changing an appliance.
    If your inspectors like locks, 1 brand pad lock works with all brand fuse-box doors, regardless of breaker configurations.
    Roger Ramjet NoFixNoPay

  6. #46
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    LA basin, CA
    Posts
    1,805
    Quote Originally Posted by Little Bill View Post
    Guys, please stop with the personal "gouges".
    Can Sierra Sparky start another thread about licensing, where its less likely to get closed ?
    Roger Ramjet NoFixNoPay

  7. #47
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    25,363
    Quote Originally Posted by ramsy View Post
    You might put a lock on the fuse box door.
    Quote Originally Posted by ramsy View Post
    If your inspectors like locks, 1 brand pad lock works with all brand fuse-box doors, regardless of breaker configurations.
    Where in the NEC does it say that you can put a padlock on the panel door to comply with the locking disconnect requirements?
    Rob

    Moderator

    All responses based on the 2014 NEC unless otherwise noted

  8. #48
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    NE Nebraska
    Posts
    37,101
    Quote Originally Posted by infinity View Post
    Where in the NEC does it say that you can put a padlock on the panel door to comply with the locking disconnect requirements?
    An enclosure with a single breaker inside -maybe. Seems logical you could, but yet NEC wording doesn't really clearly state it is acceptable.
    I live for today, I'm just a day behind.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •