Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Trane A/C help.

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    fl
    Posts
    70

    Trane A/C help.

    Changing a panel that has a Trane 10 ton 2 stage package 3 phase (NO heat) a/c connected. Plate is worn so I can't read the Maximum breaker requirement.

    Anyone have experience with these? Need to install the correct breaker.



    thx

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    NE (9.1 miles @5.07 Degrees from Winged Horses)
    Posts
    9,709
    What was there before. That would be my first thought.
    Tom
    TBLO

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Williamsburg, VA
    Posts
    5,438
    The 10-ton 3-phase, 208 volt units at the hotel we're supposed to be on 100 amp Breakers. I found all three units wired into a 250 amp breaker, with the wires having a massive haircut so they'd fit in the terminals.

    A call to train, or a Google search about model should reveal the MOCP.
    Electricians do it until it Hertz!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    13,298
    Can you still read the compressor and condenser fan motor labels? That's where I would start and then do the math from there.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    5,716
    mca 49
    max cb 60
    187-253 vac

    call trane

    rating is voltage dependent
    the unit voltage is an important detail
    The difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has its limits.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    NE Nebraska
    Posts
    37,101
    Quote Originally Posted by Ingenieur View Post
    mca 49
    max cb 60
    187-253 vac

    call trane

    rating is voltage dependent
    the unit voltage is an important detail
    Age of unit and SEER rating can have some impact,

    10 tons is good starting point information to some extent though.

    OP does this have multiple compressors or a single compressor? I can easily see it being a two compressor unit. 2 stage could easily be each compressor is one stage.
    I live for today, I'm just a day behind.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    13,298
    Scroll, recip or semi-hermetic compressor will also make a difference.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    fl
    Posts
    70
    Quote Originally Posted by kwired View Post
    Age of unit and SEER rating can have some impact,

    10 tons is good starting point information to some extent though.

    OP does this have multiple compressors or a single compressor? I can easily see it being a two compressor unit. 2 stage could easily be each compressor is one stage.
    There is 2 compressors inside.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    fl
    Posts
    70
    Quote Originally Posted by ptonsparky View Post
    What was there before. That would be my first thought.
    Unfortunately unqualified persons have been working on this site, I have to do my due diligence and find out for myself. I am not comfortable with what was there before. Already found a 12 awg ground wire for the entire 200a panel. had to fix that.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •