Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Intersystem Bonding

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    198

    Intersystem Bonding

    I am being told by a inspection company that I still need to run a #6 to a bonding bar made by madison electric. It install thru a 1/2 ko and my contention is it is bonded to the enclosure via the locknut and stud on the bar.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Fort Collins, Colorado
    Posts
    2,598
    Quote Originally Posted by eds View Post
    I am being told by a inspection company that I still need to run a #6 to a bonding bar made by madison electric. It install thru a 1/2 ko and my contention is it is bonded to the enclosure via the locknut and stud on the bar.
    I would agree with the inspector. Best I can think of at the moment is that it would not comply with 250.92.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,494
    Quote Originally Posted by texie View Post
    I would agree with the inspector. Best I can think of at the moment is that it would not comply with 250.92.
    Quote Originally Posted by eds View Post
    I am being told by a inspection company that I still need to run a #6 to a bonding bar made by madison electric. It install thru a 1/2 ko and my contention is it is bonded to the enclosure via the locknut and stud on the bar.
    Only if new panel.
    There are other ISBG devices out there.
    There are ones that slip over a existing grounding conductor.
    The choice is yours.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Iowegia
    Posts
    17,799
    Quote Originally Posted by Sierrasparky View Post
    ...............There are ones that slip over a existing grounding conductor. ...............
    That's the most common install 'round these parts. Just get the ones that slide onto the ground rod conductor and you're good to go.


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Tennessee NEC:2008
    Posts
    4,495
    Quote Originally Posted by 480sparky View Post
    That's the most common install 'round these parts. Just get the ones that slide onto the ground rod conductor and you're good to go.

    But the Utility guys say they can't get their split bolts under that cover!
    If you aim at nothing, you will hit it every time!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Iowegia
    Posts
    17,799
    Quote Originally Posted by Little Bill View Post
    But the Utility guys say they can't get their split bolts under that cover!
    Utility guys aren't concerned with them.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,494
    Quote Originally Posted by 480sparky View Post
    Utility guys aren't concerned with them.
    Yea, You can show them and they won't use them.
    The Telco man just last week put one of those clamp on things on the flip up cover to the new panel. The way it was installed you could not access the breakers without disconnecting the phone ground.
    I got so pissed I called his boss. They fixed it immediately.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    3,543
    Quote Originally Posted by 480sparky View Post
    That's the most common install 'round these parts. Just get the ones that slide onto the ground rod conductor and you're good to go.

    A lot of EI's in my area call this Arlington Industries device a "Dog Bone". It took me a while to get used to the lingo but I guess it's easier than saying "inter-system bonding bridge".

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •