Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 17 of 17

Thread: L6-30 receptacle, 1gang or 2gang box?

  1. #11
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Richmond, Virginia
    Posts
    23,194
    Only 120v receptacles require GFCI protection.
    Code references based on 2005 NEC
    Larry B. Fine
    Master Electrician
    Electrical Contractor
    Richmond, VA

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Durango, CO, 10 h 20 min without traffic from winged horses.
    Posts
    9,636
    Quote Originally Posted by LarryFine View Post
    Only 120v receptacles require GFCI protection.
    2017 has expanded the requirements.
    If you go and decide to dance with a gorilla the dance ain't over till the gorilla decides it's over.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    15,973
    Quote Originally Posted by ActionDave View Post
    2017 has expanded the requirements.
    Correct.. he is lucky it wasn't a 3 phase unit. Try finding a 3 phase 30 amp GFCI breaker
    At my age, I'm accustomed to restaurants asking me to pay in advance, but now my bank has started sending me their calendar one month at a time.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Richmond, Virginia
    Posts
    23,194
    Quote Originally Posted by augie47 View Post
    Correct.. he is lucky it wasn't a 3 phase unit. Try finding a 3 phase 30 amp GFCI breaker
    So what would happen if he did have to supply a 3ph receptacle?
    Code references based on 2005 NEC
    Larry B. Fine
    Master Electrician
    Electrical Contractor
    Richmond, VA

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    NoDak
    Posts
    329

    210.8(B)- Other than dwelling units

    Yeah, we're under 2017 NEC

    Single phase receps up to 50 amps have to be gfci protected in listed locations, which includes kitchens.

    Three phase receps up to 100 amps have to be gfci protected for the same list of locations.

    What's the availability of 3phase gfci breakers?!
    Gives incentive to hardwire appliances if that's an option?

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Williamsburg, VA
    Posts
    5,438
    Quote Originally Posted by augie47 View Post
    Correct.. he is lucky it wasn't a 3 phase unit. Try finding a 3 phase 30 amp GFCI breaker
    QO330GFI
    ...

    only $600 a piece, internet search price.

    Eta: given the dramatic cost difference between three phase and single, could you code compliantly handle tie 3-1 pole GFI Breakers together? Would save about 500 bucks.

    Seta: never mind, had a brain fart, that would not work
    Last edited by JFletcher; 04-20-18 at 09:37 AM.
    Electricians do it until it Hertz!

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    NE Nebraska
    Posts
    37,543
    Quote Originally Posted by JFletcher View Post
    QO330GFI
    ...

    only $600 a piece, internet search price.

    Eta: given the dramatic cost difference between three phase and single, could you code compliantly handle tie 3-1 pole GFI Breakers together? Would save about 500 bucks
    GFCI's won't work that way, need one common CT for leakage current detection.

    But at same time how much does it cost to use a three pole disconnect, if not in sight of the branch circuit disconnect, plus the receptacle, plug, and cord? Maybe less then the GFCI breaker but maybe not a as much less as some might initially think.
    I live for today, I'm just a day behind.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •