Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: 2 pole toggle switch used with jumpers for single circuit lighting...

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Suburbs of Chicago
    Posts
    170

    2 pole toggle switch used with jumpers for single circuit lighting...

    I found a light switch that a maintenance guy replaced after the standard switch "failed". He used a toggle switch (not a light switch, a little toggle switch) that has two poles and he jumped the hot onto both poles, then jumped the load side back again..... I'm scratching my head here.
    Also, the lights run on 277v, his toggle switch is rated 120/250v.

    Its one of those things you find sometimes. I'm going to replace it with a standard 277v rated, 20 amp switch.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    NC & IN
    Posts
    3,442
    Did it work like that ?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Williamsburg, VA
    Posts
    5,450
    Without a picture I'm having a hard time understanding the install, and it's a moot point now anyway because you're going to change it out with the correct switch. I'm curious as to how he had it mounted in the cover plate though, what did he use a coax cover plate and take the little Barrel connector out?
    Electricians do it until it Hertz!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Richmond, Virginia
    Posts
    23,513
    It would have been better to wire the two poles of the switch in series than parallel.
    Code references based on 2005 NEC
    Larry B. Fine
    Master Electrician
    Electrical Contractor
    Richmond, VA

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Cherry Valley NY, Seattle, WA
    Posts
    4,743
    Quote Originally Posted by LarryFine View Post
    It would have been better to wire the two poles of the switch in series than parallel.
    unless needed the combined current rating of each pole?
    Ethan Brush - East West Electric. NY, WA. MA

    "You can't generalize"

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    NE Nebraska
    Posts
    38,252
    Most of those I come across have plenty of current rating, but are only rated 250 volts max.

    When I do run into only say a 3 amp rating they are usually just a single pole switch, and maybe only 125 volts max.
    I live for today, I'm just a day behind.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Suburbs of Chicago
    Posts
    170
    Quote Originally Posted by JFletcher View Post
    Without a picture I'm having a hard time understanding the install, and it's a moot point now anyway because you're going to change it out with the correct switch. I'm curious as to how he had it mounted in the cover plate though, what did he use a coax cover plate and take the little Barrel connector out?
    I was looking right at it and had a hard time wrapping my head around it. It's exposed work on a brick wall, he used a blank cover with a hole drilled in it. Very classy.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Clarkesville, Georgia
    Posts
    2,211
    have seen feed auger relay in pig barns wired like that (factory, not field wiring)

    I think so they can use small relay
    Dave Ruth
    Ready Electric

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •