Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: Combining Circuits

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    2,152

    Combining Circuits

    Not sure I quite understand what they mean or what would be involved when they say consolidate extg. branch circuits. So take multiple extg. circuits and make them one circuit based on amprobe readings. Thanks.
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Michigan. It's a beautiful penninsula, I've looked around.
    Posts
    10,028
    What does 'Amprobe existing circuits' mean?
    Cheers and Stay Safe,

    Marky the Sparky

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Williamsburg, VA
    Posts
    5,438
    I would assume it means to take amperage readings. To what end do you have to combine existing circuits? How much space needs to be made in the existing panels for new circuits?

    I would think that most of the lighting circuits are already at capacity and thus not good candidates to be combined.
    Electricians do it until it Hertz!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Northern illinois
    Posts
    16,900
    I would RFI and find out what it is they expect. I would also want to do a load calculation on each existing branch circuit.
    Bob

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    19,096
    Amprobe is the brand name of a company that makes measurement equipment. You can't take ampere readings after you disconnect the circuit breaker. So my interpretation is that you are being asked to verify which circuit supplies power to which loads.
    Charles E. Beck, P.E., Seattle
    Comments based on 2017 NEC unless otherwise noted.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    23,732
    It appears to me that they are asking you to get the load current for each circuit and consolidate circuits to free up panel space. The issue with that is that you are only getting "snapshot" load information and would not really be a suitable method of determining if circuits could be consolidated unless steps were take to ensure that all possible loads were on at the time of the "snapshot" current reading.
    Don, Illinois
    (All code citations are 2017 unless otherwise noted)

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    2,152
    Quote Originally Posted by petersonra View Post
    I would RFI and find out what it is they expect. I would also want to do a load calculation on each existing branch circuit.
    . Isnt a load calc and amp probe reading?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    2,152
    Quote Originally Posted by charlie b View Post
    Amprobe is the brand name of a company that makes measurement equipment. You can't take ampere readings after you disconnect the circuit breaker. So my interpretation is that you are being asked to verify which circuit supplies power to which loads.
    So circuit tracing?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    2,152
    Quote Originally Posted by don_resqcapt19 View Post
    It appears to me that they are asking you to get the load current for each circuit and consolidate circuits to free up panel space. The issue with that is that you are only getting "snapshot" load information and would not really be a suitable method of determining if circuits could be consolidated unless steps were take to ensure that all possible loads were on at the time of the "snapshot" current reading.
    So when you say "free up" panel space you mean have some spare breakers? Can you provide a little more detail as to why you're only getting a snapshot? Thanks

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Durango, CO, 10 h 20 min without traffic from winged horses.
    Posts
    9,708
    Quote Originally Posted by mstrlucky74 View Post
    So when you say "free up" panel space you mean have some spare breakers? Can you provide a little more detail as to why you're only getting a snapshot? Thanks
    Go to my house on a Sunday afternoon and mesure the amp load on my bathroom recept circuits and you'll get nothing. Measure on a Friday afternoon when my daughter is getting ready to go out and the same circuits will be at max load because of all the curling irons running.
    If you go and decide to dance with a gorilla the dance ain't over till the gorilla decides it's over.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •