Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Grounding rods for detached garages

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Livonia, Michigan
    Posts
    286

    Grounding rods for detached garages

    When wiring a detached garage with a sub-panel, does the ground rod need to be 5/8" copper (same size as the one for the house), or would a 1/2" copper be acceptable? Would a bonding bridge need to be installed, or is that only required at the main service on the house?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    25,838
    They need to qualify as an electrode which means either 5/8" rod (listed or unlisted) or a listed 1/2" rod.
    Rob

    Moderator

    All responses based on the 2014 NEC unless otherwise noted

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Chapel Hill, NC
    Posts
    33,580
    I have never installed an intersystem bonding terminal at detached structures but it appears the code requires it.

    250.94(A) The Intersystem Bonding Termination Device. An intersystembonding termination (IBT) for connecting intersystem
    bonding conductors shall be provided external to enclosures at
    the service equipment or metering equipment enclosure and at
    the disconnecting means for any additional buildings or structures.
    Unless the ground rod is listed and 1/2" hen it cannot be used. I know that the big box stores have listed 1/2" rods. We always use the 5/8" rods
    They say I shot a man named Gray and took his wife to Italy
    She inherited a million bucks and when she died it came to me
    I can't help it if I'm lucky



  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    US
    Posts
    188
    Ground Rod just needs to show 25 ohms or less to qualify as the right size rod correct ?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    25,838
    Quote Originally Posted by bluecollar84 View Post
    Ground Rod just needs to show 25 ohms or less to qualify as the right size rod correct ?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    No, they need to comply with the size requirements of 250.52(A)(5) regardless of the 25 ohms.
    Rob

    Moderator

    All responses based on the 2014 NEC unless otherwise noted

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •