Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Grounding Electrode Conductors

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    Ocala, FL
    Posts
    2

    Grounding Electrode Conductors

    I recently stumbled across an installation SDS transformer 480 - 120/208 30 KVA, with no GEC in either the transformer or the first panel after transformer. Also inside my transformer XO only has 1 wire the neutral for the low voltage panel. Inside the low voltage panel the bond screw that make neutral and ground one is installed. For some odd reason I feel like this connected incorrectly. Any input would be appreciated.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Durango, CO, 10 h 20 min without traffic from winged horses.
    Posts
    9,636
    Welcome to the forum.

    If I understand you correctly there is a bonding screw in the panel of the secondary of the transformer and the grounding electrode conductor is missing. That would mean the GEC would need to land in the panel as well but we would need more information about why it's missing to say anything more about what's right or wrong about the installation.
    If you go and decide to dance with a gorilla the dance ain't over till the gorilla decides it's over.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    15,973
    The install you describe would require a grounding electrode and, as Actiondave, points out, it should be connected at the panel as that is where your bond is located. YOu would also need a system bonding jumper between the transformer case and the panel (this could be a 250.118 acceptable conduit)
    At my age, I'm accustomed to restaurants asking me to pay in advance, but now my bank has started sending me their calendar one month at a time.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    Ocala, FL
    Posts
    2

    GEC

    Thank you for your input on this issue. For a little more clarification this panel is inside a walkable ceiling above our process areas that actually has a few transformers up there for step down purposes. During my inspections like noted above I have NO GEC in the panel on any of my transformers except 2 in our entire facility, ( I would be safe to say eight at least). Now I guess I'm wondering why no GEC was installed originally. The reasoning behind this is on that low voltage panel I have a single circuit feeding three GFCI's for computer, scale, and printer. The weird part is it only trips the GFCI but very randomly and only I Friday when we use that side of our facility. We used an extension cord that was fed from a different panel and no GFCI tripping occurred. I curious could this be related to the missing GEC?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    25,608
    IMO the missing GEC has nothing to do with it as long as the system bonding jumper is installed.
    Rob

    Moderator

    All responses based on the 2014 NEC unless otherwise noted

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Northern illinois
    Posts
    16,852
    Quote Originally Posted by illmetro View Post
    I recently stumbled across an installation SDS transformer 480 - 120/208 30 KVA, with no GEC in either the transformer or the first panel after transformer. Also inside my transformer XO only has 1 wire the neutral for the low voltage panel. Inside the low voltage panel the bond screw that make neutral and ground one is installed. For some odd reason I feel like this connected incorrectly. Any input would be appreciated.
    I think what you have described is OK as far as it goes.

    I do think you need a GEC connected to the neutral bar in the panel.
    Bob

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •