Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: voltage drop

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Ocoee Florida
    Posts
    3

    voltage drop

    I have an existing 200 amp service for a mobile home
    I have built a new home 300 feet from the existing
    200 amp service,my question is will 350 mcm work
    to terminate to a new 200 amp sub panel I will be
    removing the mobile home.the reason is the
    power co. (SECO) wont's 4,800.00 to install a
    transformer for the new home

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Clearwater, FL - USA
    Posts
    55
    Quote Originally Posted by ricky.howell View Post
    I have an existing 200 amp service for a mobile home
    I have built a new home 300 feet from the existing
    200 amp service,my question is will 350 mcm work
    to terminate to a new 200 amp sub panel I will be
    removing the mobile home.the reason is the
    power co. (SECO) wont's 4,800.00 to install a
    transformer for the new home
    According to my VD calculation spreadsheet - 350kcmil al would be a 2.28% VD, 4/0 cu would give you a 2.3% VD

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    127
    Quote Originally Posted by ricky.howell View Post
    I have an existing 200 amp service for a mobile home
    I have built a new home 300 feet from the existing
    200 amp service,my question is will 350 mcm work
    to terminate to a new 200 amp sub panel I will be
    removing the mobile home.the reason is the
    power co. (SECO) wont's 4,800.00 to install a
    transformer for the new home
    Have you factored in the cost of new conduit and increased conductor size if the existing conduit is not sized for the increased conductor size? I don't see how this is cheaper for you to increase your conductor size to 350kCmil. In my opinion the $4800 line extension and new service next to your house sounds like a better option.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    NE (9.1 miles @5.07 Degrees from Winged Horses)
    Posts
    9,558
    Quote Originally Posted by ricky.howell View Post
    I have an existing 200 amp service for a mobile home
    I have built a new home 300 feet from the existing
    200 amp service,my question is will 350 mcm work
    to terminate to a new 200 amp sub panel I will be
    removing the mobile home.the reason is the
    power co. (SECO) wont's 4,800.00 to install a
    transformer for the new home
    As an inspector, how would you judge it?
    Tom
    TBLO

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    NE Nebraska
    Posts
    36,308
    Quote Originally Posted by ricky.howell View Post
    I have an existing 200 amp service for a mobile home
    I have built a new home 300 feet from the existing
    200 amp service,my question is will 350 mcm work
    to terminate to a new 200 amp sub panel I will be
    removing the mobile home.the reason is the
    power co. (SECO) wont's 4,800.00 to install a
    transformer for the new home
    copper or aluminum? 3 copper 350's probably cost more then $4800. Aluminum maybe around $1000. Sounds like a feeder so still need to add an EGC to those costs, along with raceway, trenching and labor.

    Then - you mentioned 4800 to install a transformer, not sure exactly what you mean, if you need to upgrade to a larger transformer to handle new load might still be some cost from POCO anyway.
    I live for today, I'm just a day behind.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    LA basin, CA
    Posts
    1,751
    Quote Originally Posted by ricky.howell View Post
    I have an existing 200 amp service for a mobile home
    ..the power co. (SECO) want's 4,800.00 to install a transformer for the new home
    If you can remove existing mobile home & 200A service, before POCO moves service drop to new location, does it still require a new transformer?
    Roger Ramjet NoFixNoPay

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    NE (9.1 miles @5.07 Degrees from Winged Horses)
    Posts
    9,558
    How far will the transformer be from the new house?

    The POCO will be responsible for maintaining the primary and maybe the secondary to the meter.

    You will be responsible for your proposed feeder. Is it or will it be in a raceway? Gophers in our area can ruin it in less than a year.
    Tom
    TBLO

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    504
    In my opinion if the transformer would work on 1.05 tap, at no-load transformer voltage would not be more than 504 V and at full-load [200 A] the voltage at MCC terminals will not be less
    than 440 V [these are the limits required by ANSI C84.1/2006 for 480 rated].That means no-need to change the transformer.[In my opinion the former distance was about 1000 ft]

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    127
    Quote Originally Posted by Julius Right View Post
    In my opinion if the transformer would work on 1.05 tap, at no-load transformer voltage would not be more than 504 V and at full-load [200 A] the voltage at MCC terminals will not be less
    than 440 V [these are the limits required by ANSI C84.1/2006 for 480 rated].That means no-need to change the transformer.[In my opinion the former distance was about 1000 ft]
    I think this comment was meant for a separate forum question unless OP wants a MCC for his house...which who am I to judge what someone puts in their house.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    504
    You're right, I meant panelboard instead of MCC.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •