Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Ductless Split System

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    MD, USA
    Posts
    628

    Ductless Split System

    I have ductless split system with indoor unit and outdoor unit.

    Indoor unit is slave and connected to and fed from outdoor unit. Outdoor unit is on roof. Indoor unit is inside IT room and has panel from which outdoor unit is fed from. Does the indoor unit require disconnect per code?

    Sent from my SM-G935U using Tapatalk

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    Eden, NC
    Posts
    11
    Since OCP for entire system is in same room as AH ( I assume within sight ) then that would qualify as the disconnect. IMHO.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    MD, USA
    Posts
    628
    There are two panels A1 and A2 in the same room. A1 and A2 are locked and diagonal to indoor unit. Outdoor unit is fed from panel A2. If the engineer provides disconnect right in front would it be per code or not required?
    Quote Originally Posted by Vince1971 View Post
    Since OCP for entire system is in same room as AH ( I assume within sight ) then that would qualify as the disconnect. IMHO.
    Sent from my SM-G935U using Tapatalk

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    15,973
    I see two points of discussion. If the panels are "in sight from" the motor then the breakers can serve as a disconnect if needed.

    If this is what we commonly refer to as a "mini-split" the question as to the need for an indoor switch is almost as arguable as "ground-up, ground-down" and has been discussed at length in numerous threads including this recent 10 page one
    http://forums.mikeholt.com/showthrea...ight=minisplit
    so if you are question the need for the switch in general please refer to that thread
    At my age, I'm accustomed to restaurants asking me to pay in advance, but now my bank has started sending me their calendar one month at a time.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    MD, USA
    Posts
    628
    Quote Originally Posted by augie47 View Post
    I see two points of discussion. If the panels are "in sight from" the motor then the breakers can serve as a disconnect if needed.

    If this is what we commonly refer to as a "mini-split" the question as to the need for an indoor switch is almost as arguable as "ground-up, ground-down" and has been discussed at length in numerous threads including this recent 10 page one
    http://forums.mikeholt.com/showthrea...ight=minisplit
    so if you are question the need for the switch in general please refer to that thread
    The thread says Mitsubishi requires indoor unit disconnect require in manufacturer instructions. The unit I have is Pka18ha4. I dont see in manufacturer instructions indoor unit disco is required.

    Sent from my SM-G935U using Tapatalk
    Last edited by codequestion; 05-16-18 at 07:55 PM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    15,973
    Repeating. The topic is highly debatable. If your manufacturer instructions give no guidance, its up to the AHJ, if inspected or to you if not.
    With the other threads available on the subject there is little need to reinvent the wheel here.
    At my age, I'm accustomed to restaurants asking me to pay in advance, but now my bank has started sending me their calendar one month at a time.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •