Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: 2 conductor romex OK for 240 VAC?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    527

    2 conductor romex OK for 240 VAC?

    Title say it all,
    can I use 10-2 Romex for an Enphase branch circuit that is 240 VAC?

    I see some installers using x-2 Romex for 240 VAC circuits that don't need a neutral. I don't think this is up to Code because you have to use the white conductor for a hot wire.
    Will taping the white ends to red solve that?

    So I run x-3 Romex and don't use the white. A bit of a waste.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Northern illinois
    Posts
    16,931
    take a look at 200.7(C)(1)
    Bob

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Chapel Hill, NC
    Posts
    33,738
    10/2, 12/2 14/2 etc can be used for 240v if the neutral is taped some other color other than green. 200.7(C)
    They say I shot a man named Gray and took his wife to Italy
    She inherited a million bucks and when she died it came to me
    I can't help it if I'm lucky



  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Williamsburg, VA
    Posts
    5,445
    Quote Originally Posted by Zee View Post
    Title say it all,
    can I use 10-2 Romex for an Enphase branch circuit that is 240 VAC?

    I see some installers using x-2 Romex for 240 VAC circuits that don't need a neutral. I don't think this is up to Code because you have to use the white conductor for a hot wire.
    Will taping the white ends to red solve that?

    So I run x-3 Romex and don't use the white. A bit of a waste.
    Most water heaters in America are wired with 10 2. Take a sharpie and mark the white conductor black, voilĂ , no problem.
    Electricians do it until it Hertz!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Iowegia
    Posts
    18,118
    What is an Enphase branch circuit?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Placerville, CA, USA
    Posts
    19,632
    Quote Originally Posted by 480sparky View Post
    What is an Enphase branch circuit?
    It is a circuit which supplies the AC side of one or more Enphase grid interactive microinverters. The Enphase-supplied cable which can be used to link the inverters is referred to as a trunk cable.

    Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    527
    Excellent answers. Thank you.

    JFletcher: Mark it red. The black already exists.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    N. Andover MA
    Posts
    14
    Be careful about not having a neutral in a Enphase system, Enphase uses the neutral to communicate data back to the Envoy as well as monitor the Line to Neutral voltage limits. Is it legal, I cant find in 705 where it says you can't. However it is not good practice, we want to make it difficult for homeowners and other electricians to tap into a Solar circuit, especially if there are financial incentives for power produced. You want the meter to record production only, you wouldn't want a load to reduce that number. If the circuit is in EMT or MC and labeled as recommended you would certainly ensure that someone doesn't "accidentally" tap off that branch circuit.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    4,637
    Quote Originally Posted by JasonC View Post
    Be careful about not having a neutral in a Enphase system, Enphase uses the neutral to communicate data back to the Envoy as well as monitor the Line to Neutral voltage limits. ....
    That's out of date for the latest Enphase IQ products.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •