Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Jbox location

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Brentwood, CA - Contra Costa County
    Posts
    17

    Jbox location

    We have an inspector saying that the jbox cannot be under one of the modules because it is not 'easily accessible'.

    Can anybody chime in on code? We've never been called out on this before??

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,757
    If it is just a J-box it only needs to be "accessible" That is without removing other attached components.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    4,627
    I've been hit with this occasionally. It's rather open to interpretation but the code does require boxes to be accessible. If the box can be opened without removing the module you are in better shape.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,757
    690.34 Access to Boxes. Junction, pull, and outlet boxes
    located behind modules or panels shall be so installed that
    the wiring contained in them can be rendered accessible
    directly or by displacement of a module(s) or panel(s)
    secured by removable fasteners and connected by a
    flexible wiring system.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Brentwood, CA - Contra Costa County
    Posts
    17
    Quote Originally Posted by Sierrasparky View Post
    690.34 Access to Boxes. Junction, pull, and outlet boxes
    located behind modules or panels shall be so installed that
    the wiring contained in them can be rendered accessible
    directly or by displacement of a module(s) or panel(s)
    secured by removable fasteners and connected by a
    flexible wiring system.
    Thank you! So it seems clear that it's fine for the jbox to be located under the array as long as you can remove a single panel to access correct?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,757
    You are welcome!


    That is what the code says, now you have the hard task to let the inspector know he is wrong.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    CA, USA
    Posts
    648
    Quote Originally Posted by jayrob View Post
    We have an inspector saying that the jbox cannot be under one of the modules because it is not 'easily accessible'.

    Can anybody chime in on code? We've never been called out on this before??

    Also, 'easily accessible' is not a term defined in the NEC. There is accessible and readily accessible. The AHJ may like something to be easily accessible for O&M work but that's not a code requirement.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •