Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: 3 phase 130 breaker?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    2

    3 phase 130 breaker?

    Anyone ever come across a 3 phase 130 amp breaker?
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    San Francisco Bay Area, CA, USA
    Posts
    7,897
    Might not be a 3 phase load, it may be a 100A 240V single phase load that must be tied to a 30A 120V load so that if either breaker trips, it turns the other one off. 15HP 230V 1 phase fan and 30A strip heater comes to mind.
    __________________________________________________ ____________________________
    Many people are shocked when they discover I am not a good electrician...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Richmond, Virginia
    Posts
    23,191
    That's funny!
    Code references based on 2005 NEC
    Larry B. Fine
    Master Electrician
    Electrical Contractor
    Richmond, VA

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    NE (9.1 miles @5.07 Degrees from Winged Horses)
    Posts
    9,807
    Obviously there was a need.
    Tom
    TBLO

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    1,286
    That 30A single pole is either a Eaton, or Siemens, classified breaker, never saw much use for them, if you have a QO panel, the Visi-trip flag can be handy.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Placerville, CA, USA
    Posts
    19,347
    Quote Originally Posted by Jraef View Post
    Might not be a 3 phase load, it may be a 100A 240V single phase load that must be tied to a 30A 120V load so that if either breaker trips, it turns the other one off. 15HP 230V 1 phase fan and 30A strip heater comes to mind.
    But that handle tie cannot be relied on to provide a common trip!
    It could be an asymmetric MWBC. We can't tell for sure since we cannot see the neutral configuration.
    Or it could be a machine or equipment load that requires both the two pole and the single pole circuit to be disconnected to be safe.
    Or it could be a feeder to a sub panel that serves one three phase load and multiple single phase (L-N or L-L) loads. This would save a small amount of copper, for whatever that is worth compared to the non-standard nature of the configuration.
    Last edited by GoldDigger; 06-08-18 at 03:31 AM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Williamsburg, VA
    Posts
    5,438
    Quote Originally Posted by GoldDigger View Post
    But that handle tie cannot be relied on to provide a common trip!
    Agreed.

    Or it could be a machine or equipment load that requires both the two pole and the single pole circuit to be disconnected to be safe.
    That would be my first guess.
    Electricians do it until it Hertz!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    NE Nebraska
    Posts
    37,521
    Quote Originally Posted by GoldDigger View Post
    But that handle tie cannot be relied on to provide a common trip!
    also agree
    I live for today, I'm just a day behind.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Fl
    Posts
    17,230
    Could be they just needed a place to keep that cut nail.

    Roger
    Moderator

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    7,716
    Quote Originally Posted by GoldDigger View Post
    But that handle tie cannot be relied on to provide a common trip!
    count me in
    I'm in over my head...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •